This quick video explains how to form a thesis statement for your college research paper.
From tulsaccprof
This part of the building process is all about organizing your paper.
Remember, making your paper is like making a sandwich; top bun (thesis), protein and garnishes (facts), bottom bun (conclusion).
Develop an argument, take a stance, and reinforce your thesis statement with the facts that you uncover during the research process.
This informative video explains how to organize your writing at the college level.
From Calltech.edu
Central Writing Lab
Online Assistance
The primary purpose of the BC Writing Center is to provide a friendly, helpful atmosphere in which students can review their writing skills and receive help with composition skills and research techniques.
“All Broward College students are welcome to drop by the Writing Center. Broward College students can have their composition, essay, research, and technical writing reviewed for FREE by the writing center tutors. Please contact the writing center to set up a 30 minute, one-on-one tutoring session.”
The College Student's Guide to Writing a Great Research Paper by
Each semester, millions of college students are required to write research papers for class. Staring at a blank word processing document on your computer screen can create an uneasy feeling, especially as you wish for words to magically fill your 20-page assignment. For the majority of college students, whether you go to Harvard or to community college, this is a universal feeling. This complete guide was created just for you -- the college student. In this book, you will learn tips for formatting your research paper, as well as how to complete a cohesive, well-structured assignment for any college course. This guide will walk you through the entire process of writing a research paper, from choosing a topic, to conducting your research, to writing and editing each draft of the assignment. You will learn how to properly use the library, as well as tricks for finding relevant and credible articles, books, and online sources. This comprehensive guide then takes you a step further, with information on how to check your work for plagiarism and eliminate it from your paper altogether as you learn how to use your research as a source to support your thesis. Filled with tips for finding reputable sources and conducting research efficiently, even English majors will find this guide useful in defining a focused thesis and developing it throughout an entire paper, regardless of the required word count. Using the step-by-step instructions and writing guidelines offered in this book, you will learn how to manage your time while simultaneously mastering the basics choosing a unique topic, taking notes from your research and incorporating them into your writing, and citing sources in MLA or APA style (or styles laid out by other reference manuals). Get your creative juices flowing with our list of prompts, or compare your work or outline to samples from real research papers; then polish your paper off with grammar and style tips from professional editors. Use the checklists included in this book to make sure your paper measures up to any grading criteria, as you learn how to keep your paper consistent in style, tone, punctuation, capitalisation, verb tense, and more. The book is filled with hundreds of hints, tricks, and secrets on how to make your research paper stand out in the stack. We spent hundreds of hours interviewing successful college graduates and professors to compile the exclusive tips you need to know to get that perfect score.
Patterns for College Writing by
Laurie Kirszner and Stephen Mandell, authors with thirty years of experience teaching college writing, know what works in the classroom and have a knack for picking just the right readings. In Patterns for College Writing, they provide students with exemplary rhetorical models and instructors with class-tested selections that balance classic and contemporary essays. Along with more examples of student writing than any other reader, Patterns has the most comprehensive coverage of active reading, research, and the writing process, with a five-chapter mini-rhetoric; the clearest explanations of the patterns of development; the most thorough apparatus of any rhetorical reader; and the most comprehensive coverage of argumentative writing--all reasons why Patterns for College Writing is the best-selling reader in the country. And the new edition includes exciting new readings, images, and debate and casebook topics. Patterns is now available as a Bedford e-Book to Go and in a variety of formats that can be downloaded to a computer, tablet, or e-reader. And now with the new edition, you can meet students where they are: online. Our newest set of online materials, LaunchPad Solo, provides all the key tools and course-specific content that you need to teach your class. Get all our great course-specific materials in one fully customizable space onli≠ then assign and mix our resources with yours. To package LaunchPad Solo free with Patterns for College Writing, use ISBN 978-1-319-01312-7.
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers by
High school students, two-year college students, and university students all need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. In the new fourth edition of Turabian's popular guide, the team behind Chicago's widely respected The Craft of Research has reconceived and renewed this classic for today's generation. Designed for less advanced writers than Turabian's Manual of Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition, Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams here introduce students to the art of defining a topic, doing high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging and solid college paper. The Student's Guide is organized into three sections that lead students through the process of developing and revising a paper. Part 1, "Writing Your Paper," guides students through the research process with discussions of choosing and developing a topic, validating sources, planning arguments, writing drafts, avoiding plagiarism, and presenting evidence in tables and figures. Part 2, "Citing Sources," begins with a succinct introduction to why citation is important and includes sections on the three major styles students might encounter in their work--Chicago, MLA, and APA--all with full coverage of electronic source citation. Part 3, "Style," covers all matters of style important to writers of college papers, from punctuation to spelling to presenting titles, names, and numbers. With the authority and clarity long associated with the name Turabian, the fourth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers is both a solid introduction to the research process and a convenient handbook to the best practices of writing college papers. Classroom tested and filled with relevant examples and tips, this is a reference that students, and their teachers, will turn to again and again.
The Reading-Writing Workshop by
The Reading-Writing Workshop: Strategies for the College Classroom focuses specifically on improving students' writing and reading skills for academic success. High-interest readings from a variety of genres have been chosen to engage students in critical thinking. Each chapter is organized around a single topic and contains two or three readings. Journal questions, pre-reading activities, and comprehension and vocabulary activities accompany each reading. The Reading-Writing Workshop features strategies that successful students use in reading and writing assignments. For example, students are taught to annotate what they read. Chapters contain Vocabulary Strategy and Writing Workshop sections to help students prepare for more advanced coursework. The text focuses on the paragraph as the foundation for academic writing, and vocabulary work exposes students to the Academic Word List. The Reading-Writing Workshop is an excellent tool for teachers of intermediate to high- intermediate students needing practice in college-level academic reading and writing.
Writing for College, Writing for Life by
Grounded in the Writing Program Administrator’s Outcomes Statement,The McGraw-Hill Guidehelps students, instructors, and programsset, achieve, and assesstheir writing goals. Meeting the objective of any composition course by putting students on the path to becoming successful writers,The McGraw-Hill Guideteaches students how to use a sequence of writing goals that can be adapted to any situation. In this manner it is easily adapted to any composition program or any individual instructor's needs by providing a consistent measure of outcomes across courses. If your goal is to teach your students how to adapt to any writing situation using a goal-centered approach, thenThe McGraw-Hill Guideis the perfect match for your composition course. With its optional Handbook, easily customizable Table of Contents, and comprehensive Online Edition,The McGraw-Hill Guideadapts to the changing needs of your writing program. Meet the authors, download a sample chapter and learn more atThe McGraw-Hill Guide's Website.
Writing Research Critically by
This is not a standard guide to writing a dissertation, thesis, project report, journal article or book. Rather, this book will help researchers who are dissatisfied with the typical recipe approaches to standardised forms of writing-up and want to explore how academic writing can be used to greater effect. Writing Research Critically shows that writing up is not just about presenting findings¿ as if the facts would speak for themselves. As the authors show there are certain vital skills that any writer needs to develop within their academic writing, such as the ability to: develop critical understanding and a personal academic voice question assumptions and the status quo frame the background and transgress the frame read between the lines when reviewing the literature strengthen interpretations and conctruct persuasive arguments challenge and develop theory and explanations develop ideas that create possibilities for realistic action Packed with examples from a range of writing projects (papers, dissertations, theses, reports, journal articles and books), this book provides a practical and refreshing way to approach and present research. Through case studies the authors offer a step-by-step guide from the early stages of planning a writing project, whether an undergraduate paper or a professional publication, to the polishing processes that make the difference between a merely descriptive account to an argument that intends to be critical and persuasive. Written in a clear accessible style this book will inspire a wide range of researchers from undergraduates to postgraduates, early career researchers and experienced professionals working across a wide range of fields, and demonstrate how research can have more impact in the real world.
A Writer's Reference by
A Writer's Reference, the most widely adopted handbook in the United States, continues to be groundbreaking in its simplicity, offering the right content in an accessible format. New coauthor Nancy Sommers's own research, campus travel, and classroom experience keep the handbook in tune with the needs of academic writers. In a trusted quick-reference format, the seventh edition delivers advice on all the right topics: working with sources, revising with comments, preparing a portfolio, and more. A Writer's Reference offers unprecedented flexibility with several versions to choose from — a handbook that's truly at your service. Read the preface.
The Norton Field Guide to Writing, with Readings by
With just enough detail -- and color-coded links that send students to more detail if they need it -- this is the rhetoric that tells students what they need to know and resists the temptation to tell them everything there is to know. Designed for easy reference -- with menus, directories, and a combined glossary/index. The Third Edition has new chapters on academic writing, choosing genres, writing online, and choosing media, as well as new attention to multimodal writing.The Norton Field Guide to Writing is available with a handbook, an anthology, or both -- and all versions are now available as low-cost ebooks and in mobile-compatible formats for iPhones, Droids, and iPads.
This searches only for ebooks. To locate other library materials use the BC Libraries homepage.
Note: You may have to log in with your OneLogin (BC email) to access library resources.
From Topic to Thesis: A Guide to Theological Research offers a third option. This affordable and accessible tool walks students through the process, focusing on five steps: finding direction, gathering sources, understanding issues, entering discussion and establishing a position. Its goal is to take students directly from a research assignment to a research argument--in other words, from topic to thesis.
Each of the fourteen chapters explores different aspects of academic writing from practical, professional and theoretical perspectives. The book is written for students, teachers and educators at tertiary organisations. Word connoisseurs, debaters, writers and readers may also enjoy its argumentations and analyses.
Never has contemporary fiction been more widely discussed and passionately analysed; recent years have seen a huge growth in the number of reading groups and in the interest of a non-academic readership in the discussion of how novels work. Drawing on his weekly Guardian column, 'Elements of Fiction', John Mullan examines novels mostly of the last ten years, many of which have become firm favourites with reading groups. He reveals the rich resources of novelistictechnique, setting recent fiction alongside classics of the past.
Cheeky, original, and decidedly practical to boot, Sin Boldly! is unlike any other writing handbook available. Jammed with sage advice, genuine encouragement, and surprising examples (of how to write and how not to write), this book gives beginning writers and confident students alike an easy-to-follow roadmap for improving one of the most important skills for success.
Berger's slim, user-friendly volume on academic writing is a gift to linguistically-stressed academics. Author of 60 published books, the author speaks to junior scholars and graduate students about the process and products of academic writing. He differentiates between business writing skills for memos, proposals, and reports, and the scholarly writing that occurs in journals and books.
The good paper is a handbook for writing research papers, BA and other projects, theses, essays etc. in Danish higher education. The book is written for students who must independently formulate a research question and search for literature for their research papers: bachelor theses, research papers, projects at all levels of project oriented education, master and diploma theses.--p. 4 of covers.
Rather than using novels simply to teach basic literacy skills and comprehension strategies, Whole Novels approaches literature as art. The book is fully aligned with the Common Core ELA Standards and offers tips for implementing whole novels in various contexts, including suggestions for teachers interested in trying out small steps in their classrooms first. Includes a powerful method for teaching literature, writing, and critical thinking to middle school students Shows how to use the Whole Novels approach in conjunction with other programs Includes video clips of the author using the techniques in her own classroom.