Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OFFICE OF THE DEAN

This guide contains information from the Office of the Dean of Libraries and Academic Success Centers for Broward College.

LIBRARY COMMITTEES - Our faculty and staff serve on internal committees dedicated to improving our library resources and services for our patrons

Collection Development Committee

Charge:

The Collection Development Committee periodically reviews and updates the University/College Library Collection Development Policy; last major update was November 2021 and was approved by the UCL’s Governance/Policy Advisory Committee (GPAC). The committee advises the Collection Development Librarian (CDL) and members of library administration on collection development policies and procedures. It makes selection decisions on materials or resources costing more than $500. The committee approves changes in standing orders proposed by CDL and approves all annual resource subscriptions.

Members:

  • (Chair) Associate Dean, Library Access and Discovery
  • Associate Dean, Library Services
  • Director, Technical Services
  • Collection Development Librarian
  • Senior Specialist, Technical Services (Acquisitions)  
  • Coordinator, Electronic Resources
  • Broward College Online Faculty Librarian
  • Broward College Faculty Librarians (2-year appointment to include at least 1 UCL Librarian)
  • FAU Librarian (2-year appointment)

 

Outreach Committee

Charge:

The purpose of the Outreach Committee is to promote the awareness of services, resources, and activities of the Libraries and Academic Success Centers. The committee will develop and implement a consistent marketing plan that will increase the promotion and visibility of library services, collections, resources; facilitate the planning of Library/ASC academic events; seek input from the Broward College and Florida Atlantic University communities in order to respond to their needs; coordinate external trainings and workshops for faculty, students, and staff; create sub-committees to collaborate on special college-related projects.

Members:

  • (Chair) Outreach Librarian
  • Two Faculty Librarians from Central Campus
  • One Faculty Librarian from North Campus
  • One Faculty Librarian from South Campus
  • Circulation Supervisor
  • Library Services Supervisor
  • ILL Lead Specialist
  • Executive Assistant overseeing Library communication
  • Senior Specialist, Technical Services
  • Two FAU representatives
  • Ex officio: Associate Dean, Public Services

 

 

Technology Committee

Charge:

The Technology Committee advises library administration on trends and potential new products or services. The committee performs assessments of current technology. It provides planning for hardware and software technology at the University/College Library and software technology for all Broward College Libraries. The committee establishes and maintains project priorities and coordinates test and pilot programs of new products and services that are technology based. It deploys new technologies by providing training and documentation.

Members:

  • (Chair) Associate Dean, Library Access and Discovery
  • Associate Dean, Library Services
  • One Faculty Librarian representative
  • Library Web Specialist
  • Library Services Supervisor
  • Central Campus ASC representative
  • Central Campus IT representative
  • District IT Web Support representative

 

University/College Library Building 17 Safety Committee

Charge:

The Safety Committee ensures the safety of our building tenants and guests by making all tenant department heads and UCL employees aware of our Occupant Emergency Action Plan (OEAP) so they know our procedures in the event of an emergency.  The committee appoints each committee member to specific roles during an emergency and communicates information to our tenants, guests and other appropriate parties as needed. 

Members:

Building Emergency Coordinator (BEC) and Alternate

  • Primary BEC - Dean, Libraries and Academic Success Centers
  • Alternate BEC - Associate Dean, Library Services
  • NOTE: The faculty librarian serving at the Reference Desk during evenings/weekends serves as the Temporary BEC in the event of an emergency, until the Primary or Alternate BEC is called and arrives on site.

Building Leadership Team (not already listed in other categories)

  • Associate Dean, Library Access and Discovery
  • Associate Dean, Academic Success Center, Central

Floor Wardens

  • Floor 1 - Archives and Special Collections Librarian
  • Floor 1 - Library Services Supervisor
  • Floor 1 - Senior Library Assistant, Circulation (evenings/weekends)
  • Floor 1 - Senior Specialist, Campus Technology, Central
  • Floor 2 - Specialist, Library (Technical Services)
  • Floor 2 - Administrative Specialist III, Academic Success Center, Central
  • Floor 2 - Specialist, Academic Resources, Academic Success Center, Central
  • Floor 3 - Executive Assistant to Associate Deans for Library Services and Library Access and Discovery
  • Floor 3 - Executive Assistant to Dean, Libraries and Academic Success Centers
  • Floor 4 - Administrative Specialist III, English
  • Floor 4 – Associate Dean, English
  • Floor 4 - Associate Dean, Social Sciences
  • Floor 4 - Associate Vice President, CTEL
  • Floor 4 - Executive Assistant, Social Sciences
  • Floor 4 - Senior Director, Faculty Development, CTEL

Campus Safety & Emergency Management (Honorary Members)

  • Senior Director, Emergency Management
  • Chief Fire Official

 

Library Assessment Committee

Charge:

The Library Assessment Committee advises the Library Administration and the Assessment Librarian on the prioritizing, planning, and implementation of assessment activities. Members assist the Assessment Librarian in identifying assessment opportunities, designing assessment tools, promoting assessment activities, selecting accountability call goals and fostering a culture of assessment within the library. The committee shares in accountability for the success of the assessment program and evaluates its effectiveness in supporting the library’s mission and strategic directions. The Library Assessment Committee may form specialized subcommittees to review and develop recommendations concerning specific aspects of the committee’s charge.

Members:

  • Assessment Librarian
  • UCL Librarian
  • North Campus Librarian
  • Online Librarian
  • Technical Services representative
  • Circulation or ILL representative 
  • FAU representative
  • Ex officio: Associate Dean, Library Services