Naming and Nation-building in Turkey by Türköz, MeltemChapter 1: Introduction: Surnames and the construction of Turkish citizens -- Chapter 2: Intellectual precursors and cultural context: Osmanlıca, Turcology, Language Reform and Surnames -- Chapter 3: Making, disseminating and enforcing the law -- Chapter 4: Generating surnames in theory and practice: surnames booklets, registry documents and the graphic artifacts of the state -- Chapter 5: The social life of the state's fantasy -- Chapter 6: The burden of minority names -- Chapter 7: Turkish surnames and their critics since 1934 -- Chapter 8: Conclusion: The legacy of the surname law in the 21st century.
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781137566560
Publication Date: 2018
Family Names and Family History by David HeyFamily names are an essential part of everyone's personal history. The story of their evolution is integral to family history and fascinating in its own right. Formed from first names, place names, nicknames and occupations, names allow us to trace the movements of our ancestors from the middle ages to the present day. David Hey shows how, when and where families first got their names, and proves that most families stayed close to their places of origin. Settlement patterns and family groupings can be traced back towards their origin by using national and local records. Family Names and Family History tells anyone interested in tracing their own name how to set about doing so.
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780826435347
Publication Date: 2006
Address Practice As Social Action: European Perspective by C. Norrby (Editor); C. Wide (Editor)How we address one another says a great deal about our social relationships and which groups in society we belong to. This edited volume examines address choices in a range of everyday interactions taking place in Dutch, Finnish, Flemish, French, German, Italian and the two national varieties of Swedish, Finland Swedish and Sweden Swedish.
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781137529923
Publication Date: 2015
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Families, Marriages, and Intimate Relationships by Editors James J. Ponzetti Jr., Maureen Blankemeyer, Sean M. Horan, Heidi Lyons, Aya ShigetoMacmillan Encyclopedia of Families, Marriages, and Intimate Relationships will provide up-to-date information on such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including sociology, psychology, anthropology, gender/women’s studies, and others. Features include a thematic outline and a comprehensive index.
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780028664644
Publication Date: 2019
A Comprehensive Name Index for the American Slave by Howard E. PottsIn the 1930s, the Works Progress Administration began interviewing former slaves for their side of history, a project that would become one of the largest oral research projects on slavery. This volume indexes the slaves according to where they lived (as opposed to where they were interviewed), enabling researchers to locate slaves by state, county, or region, as well as by their master's name, their age, and the interviewer. The ease of access provided by this index will aid researchers who wish to consider the slave experience in specific states or regions. It will help scholars trace migratory patterns from one region to another and enable genealogical researchers to locate specific individuals.
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780313292040
Publication Date: 1997
Gender, Power and Privilege in Early Modern Europe by Penny Richards; Jessica MunnsGender, Power and Privilege in Early Modern Europe shows how definitions of sexuality and gender roles operated and more particularly, how such definitions--and the activities they generated and reflected--articulated concerns inside a given culture. Chapter 4 :The importance of a name: Gender, power and the strategy of naming a child in a noble Italian family: The Martinengo of Brescia; Introduction; Names for a surname; Genealogical chart; Saints and godfathers, the deceased. Prestige and heritage: Choices which count. The right name for the right heir.
Naming and Nation-building in Turkey by
Chapter 1: Introduction: Surnames and the construction of Turkish citizens -- Chapter 2: Intellectual precursors and cultural context: Osmanlıca, Turcology, Language Reform and Surnames -- Chapter 3: Making, disseminating and enforcing the law -- Chapter 4: Generating surnames in theory and practice: surnames booklets, registry documents and the graphic artifacts of the state -- Chapter 5: The social life of the state's fantasy -- Chapter 6: The burden of minority names -- Chapter 7: Turkish surnames and their critics since 1934 -- Chapter 8: Conclusion: The legacy of the surname law in the 21st century.
Family Names and Family History by
Family names are an essential part of everyone's personal history. The story of their evolution is integral to family history and fascinating in its own right. Formed from first names, place names, nicknames and occupations, names allow us to trace the movements of our ancestors from the middle ages to the present day. David Hey shows how, when and where families first got their names, and proves that most families stayed close to their places of origin. Settlement patterns and family groupings can be traced back towards their origin by using national and local records. Family Names and Family History tells anyone interested in tracing their own name how to set about doing so.
Address Practice As Social Action: European Perspective by
How we address one another says a great deal about our social relationships and which groups in society we belong to. This edited volume examines address choices in a range of everyday interactions taking place in Dutch, Finnish, Flemish, French, German, Italian and the two national varieties of Swedish, Finland Swedish and Sweden Swedish.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Families, Marriages, and Intimate Relationships by
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Families, Marriages, and Intimate Relationships will provide up-to-date information on such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including sociology, psychology, anthropology, gender/women’s studies, and others. Features include a thematic outline and a comprehensive index.
A Comprehensive Name Index for the American Slave by
In the 1930s, the Works Progress Administration began interviewing former slaves for their side of history, a project that would become one of the largest oral research projects on slavery. This volume indexes the slaves according to where they lived (as opposed to where they were interviewed), enabling researchers to locate slaves by state, county, or region, as well as by their master's name, their age, and the interviewer. The ease of access provided by this index will aid researchers who wish to consider the slave experience in specific states or regions. It will help scholars trace migratory patterns from one region to another and enable genealogical researchers to locate specific individuals.
Gender, Power and Privilege in Early Modern Europe by
Gender, Power and Privilege in Early Modern Europe shows how definitions of sexuality and gender roles operated and more particularly, how such definitions--and the activities they generated and reflected--articulated concerns inside a given culture. Chapter 4 :The importance of a name: Gender, power and the strategy of naming a child in a noble Italian family: The Martinengo of Brescia; Introduction; Names for a surname; Genealogical chart; Saints and godfathers, the deceased. Prestige and heritage: Choices which count. The right name for the right heir.