Research Guides: Civic Literacy: Library Resources

Books & eBooks

The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History

American government and politics: a concise introduction

American history through its greatest speeches: a documentary history of the United States

The Concise Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History

Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court

Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court

Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics

U.S. Citizenship Test Practice in English, Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog and Vietnamese

Dictionary of American Government and Politics

Textbooks

The Library keeps the following textbooks on textbook and course reserve behind the Circulation Desk. Textbooks are library use only and can be checked out for only 3 hours at a time.

America by David E. Shi
Call Number: E178.1 .K24 2018 Vol.1

ISBN: 9780393668964

Publication Date: 2018-11-16
America by David E. Shi
Call Number: E178.1 .K24 2018 Vol.2

ISBN: 9780393668971

Publication Date: 2018-11-16
Freedom on My Mind by Deborah Gray White; Mia Bay; Waldo E. Martin
Call Number: E178.1 .K24 2020 Vol.1

ISBN: 9781319265670

Publication Date: 2020-08-27
Government In America People, Politics, And Policy by Edwards, George C.; Wattenberg, Martin P.; Howell, William G.
Call Number: JK276 .E39 2018

ISBN: 990000194550306562

Publication Date: 2020
Visions of America by Jennifer D. Keene; Saul Cornell; Edward O'Donnell
Call Number: E178.1 K24 2013 C.1

ISBN: 990000164300306562

Publication Date: 2017

eBooks

Activist Citizenship Education by Keith Heggart
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9789813346932

Publication Date: 2021-01-03
After you vote: A woman's guide to making an impact, from town hall to Capitol Hill by Emerson, Courtney
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781950665594

Publication Date: 2021
American history through its greatest speeches: a documentary history of the United States by Jolyon P. Girard, Darryl Mace, Courtney Smith.
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781610699709

Publication Date: 2017
The Declaration of Independence by John R. Vile
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781440863028

Publication Date: 2018-11-26
Latinos in the American Political System by Jessica Lavariega Monforti
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781440853463

Publication Date: 2019-03-14
The Loud Minority by Daniel Q. Gillion
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780691201726

Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Money in American Politics by David Schultz (Editor)
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781440851766

Publication Date: 2018-06-08

Books

Most US government books are found in the book stacks under JK on the 3rd floor.

To identify books via the UCL catalog, search phrases such as US Citizenship, civics and citizenship, American democracy, political rights, etc.

Campaign Finance by Kathryn Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: JK1991 .C3424 2019

ISBN: 9781534504110

Publication Date: 2018-12-15
Defining Documents in American History - Court Cases by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: KF4550 .S86 2017

ISBN: 9781682175859

Publication Date: 2017-11-06
Fault Lines in the Constitution by Cynthia Levinson; Sanford Levinson
Call Number: KF4550.Z9 L475 2017

ISBN: 9781561459452

Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Great Events from History by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Kibibi Mack-Shelton (Editor)
Call Number: E185 .G74 2017

ISBN: 9781682171523

Publication Date: 2017-02-16
Master the AP U. S. History Exam by Peterson's
Call Number: E 1758 .P48 2018

ISBN: 9780768941845

Publication Date: 2017
Milestone Documents in African American History by Salem Press Editors; Echol Nix (Editor)
Call Number: E184.6 .M55 2017

ISBN: 9781682175798

Publication Date: 2017-10-31
The Two-Party System in the United States by Barbara Krasner (Editor)
Call Number: K2265 .T96 2019

ISBN: 9781534503892

Publication Date: 2018-12-15
United States Government Manual 2017 by Bernan Press
Call Number: JK 421 .A3 2017

ISBN: 9781598889772

Publication Date: 2017

Electronic Resources

American History
American History contains the complete content of the American Women's History Online and U.S. Government Online databases. It offers a virtual library of American history providing biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, maps, and graphs.
History Reference Center
History Reference Center offers full-text from more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full-text for 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
CQ Researcher
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.
Gale eBooks
The Gale eBook platform enables users to find and retrieve multi-disciplinary digital content from Gale imprints, and those of over 150 publishing partners. Titles are authoritative, relevant and DRM free and ebooks are accessible! Audio files can be downloaded and saved onto any mobile device and read aloud in nearly 25 languages. Content can be translated as well. Ebook content is highly findable via detailed indexing, Discovery Services and MARC records. Formatted citations are easily exported; bookmarked links will never change and may be shared with non-users. Users can enable easy web reading with HTML or enjoy a more visual experience with cover-to-cover book view.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand provides streaming access to more than 20,000 videos covering a wide range of subject areas.