Faculty OER Resources - EAP 0320C, 0420C, 1540C, & 1640C - Prof. Sacharow

OER for EAP

Open Education and Second Language Learning and Teaching: The Rise of a New Knowledge Ecology by Carl S. Blyth, Joshua J. Thoms
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781800411005
Publication Date: 3rd Feb 2021
Compared with STEM fields, foreign language (FL) education and second language acquisition have only slowly embraced open education and the new knowledge ecologies it produces. FL educators may have been hesitant to participate in the open education movement due to a lack of research which investigates the benefits and challenges of FL learning and teaching in open environments. This book contextualizes open education in FL learning and teaching via an historical overview of the movement, along with an in-depth exploration of how the open movement affects FL education beyond the classroom context; fills the research void by exploring aspects of open second language learning and teaching across a range of educational contexts; and illustrates new ways of creating, adapting and curating FL materials that are freely shared among FL educators and students. This book is open access under a CC BY ND licence.

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

Communication Beginnings: An Introductory Listening and Speaking Text for English Language Learners by Della Jean Abrahams
Call Number: Textbook
ISBN: 9781387268634
Publication Date: 2017
This textbook is designed for beginning-intermediate English language learners. It is composed of 7 chapters, each of which covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter includes listening and speaking components such as dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter also focuses on 10 target words from the New General Service List of English vocabulary. The textbook includes an audio component that consists of recorded conversations of native and non-native English speakers, as well as links to additional listening resources on the web.
BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English Course Pack 5 by Shantel Ivits
Call Number: Textbook
Publication Date: 2015
This course pack is designed to meet the learning outcomes for Adult Literacy Fundamental English Level 5 (roughly equivalent to grades 6 to 7.5 in the K-12 system). Every chapter includes a level-appropriate, high-interest reading of between 500 and 800 words. The readings are freely available in a separate reader with convenient links to the readings in each chapter of this course pack. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading. This course pack has been reviewed by subject experts from colleges and universities.
BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English Course Pack 6 by Shantel Ivits
Call Number: Textbook
Publication Date: 2015
This course pack is designed to meet the learning outcomes for Adult Literacy Fundamental English Level 6 (roughly equivalent to grades 7.5 to 9 in the K-12 system). Every chapter includes a level-appropriate, high-interest reading of between 500 and 1,000 words. The readings are freely available in a separate reader with convenient links to the readings in each chapter of this course pack. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading. This course pack has been reviewed by subject experts from colleges and universities.
Common Errors in English Usage by Paul Brians; Mignon Fogarty (Foreword by)
Call Number: e-Book
ISBN: 9781590282632
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
Created by Prof. Paul Brians of Washington State University, includes an alphabetical index of common errors, along with lists of non-errors and spelling errors. A book version (3rd ed) of this site is available.
Let’s Get Writing! by Elizabeth Browning; Kirsten DeVries; Kathy Boylan; Jenifer Kurtz; and Katelyn Burton
Call Number: Textbook
Publication Date: 2018
Let's Get Writing!, from Virginia Western Community College Educational Foundation, is a free, online textbook for first-year college writers.
Advanced Community College ESL Composition: An Integrated Skills Approach by Edgar Perez Sara Behseta, East Los Angeles College Jenell Rae
Call Number: Textbook
Publication Date: 2020
This book has been created to provide a framework for building your skills in writing and critical thinking. It provides access to published samples from professional authors along with essay drafts from ESL students who have polished their skills in their respective writing courses.

Find textbooks and full course material packages in our new, streamlined collection for educators

LibreTexts project is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.

This glossary includes a complete list of the grammar terms and definitions covered in our free grammar lessons, with convenient links to the lessons relating to each grammar term.

In 2022, the public domain will welcome a lot of “firsts”: the first Winnie-the-Pooh book by A. A. Milne, the first published novels from Ernest Hemingway and William Faulkner, the first books of poems from Langston Hughes and Dorothy Parker. Works from 1926 are open to all, as is a cornucopia of recorded music: an estimated 400,000 sound recordings from before 1923!

The purpose of this website is to guide learners in effective, enjoyable ways of improving their English and doing well in education.

Dave's ESL Cafe Grammar Lessons

Great resources for learning grammar. There are also links to fun quizzes and student forums under the "Stuff for Students" section.

Great Grammar Websites for Adult English Language Learners

(from the blog of TESOL* International Association) *Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

This website provides seven levels of instruction in American English. It also includes a section on American slang!

Although this website is in British English, it is easily searchable and includes exercises where you can practice English grammar.

English with Jennifer offers both free and paid help with English grammar. There is an app and a YouTube channel, as well.

Grammar-Quizzes.com

This site is most useful for advanced users, but it contains many quizzes, each of which focuses on a particular grammar point.

BowValley College ESL Literacy Readers

These online books can be sorted by reading level. They all include both audio and text so that you can listen to the pronunciation of words as you read.

Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
Transparent Language Online offers interactive training in 80 languages. Vocabulary flash cards, pronunciation practice, activities/games, culture blogs, online social communities, and video-based grammar lessons are included. Basic to intermediate level. Apple and Android apps are available. First time users must create a free personal account with a BC email address.

Grammar Essentials

The Grammar Essentials area of the Excelsior OWL will provide you with a thorough overview of punctuation, grammar and usage, and some of the most common errors students in the United States struggle with.

Nature Reflections: Interactive Language Practice for English-Language Learners

Students whose first language is not English reflect on nature through readings, a visit to a green area, and bookmaking using the writing process and peer feedback.

Let's Read It Again: Comprehension Strategies for English-Language Learners

Overview: Help Spanish-speaking English-language learners unlock the mysteries of their new language by using a bilingual book to recognize unfamiliar words and construct meaning from the text.

Northern Illinois University Effective Writing Practices Tutorial section focuses on the most common grammatical mistakes made in writing. The mistakes are organized under 13 grammatical categories. In each of these categories, the tutorial presents an error, explains it, and shows ways of avoiding or correcting it. Use the examples and explanations in this section as reminders when you proofread and edit your written work.

Towson University's Online Writing Support site provides a comprehensive basic grammar tutorial, including explanations of grammar topics, self-teaching units, and interactive exercises.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) is a well-organized, searchable site offering information and exercises for writing at all levels and for various purposes. Resources are organized for the needs of specific types of writers: middle and high school students, college students, instructors, adult learners (ESL, GED, Business), and professional writers. Browse the Purdue OWL site map to discover a wide range of writing topics and resources.

Study Zone is for students of the English Language Centre (ELC) at the University of Victoria. ELC teachers create the English language lessons and practice exercises. The site is designed for our adult English language learners, but all are welcome to read the lessons and use the exercises.

Writing Commons is a free, peer-reviewed resource for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.

UW-Madison Writer's Handbook, from the University of Wisconsin Writing Center, offers instructional materials for academic and professional writing--including research papers, literary analysis, cover letters, and resumes--as well as writing process and structure, grammar and punctuation, and citing references using various styles.

Grammar Bytes! Grammar Instruction with Attitude, created by Valencia College English Prof. Robin L. Simmons, includes grammar terminology and rules, printable handouts, PowerPoint presentations and videos, and interactive exercises.

The Punctuation Guide is a comprehensive reference for American-style punctuation.

EAP 0320C, 0420C, 1540C, & 1640C - Prof. Sacharow

OER for EAP

MERLOT Open Textbook: ELL

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

Find Open Textbooks

Find textbooks and full course material packages in our new, streamlined collection for educators

LibreTexts project

LibreTexts project is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.

Glossary of Grammar Terms

This glossary includes a complete list of the grammar terms and definitions covered in our free grammar lessons, with convenient links to the lessons relating to each grammar term.

Public Domain Works

A guide to learning English