Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EAP 0320C, 0420C, 1540C, & 1640C - Prof. Sacharow

This resource guide was designed specifically to help YOU with your EAP assignments.

Course Objectives, Search Tips, & Websites

Students will:

  • Demonstrate the ability to research assigned topics locating reputable academic sources, properly annotating and citing them.

Search Tips:

Put search phrases in double quotes: "dental hygienist""marine engineering""nursing shortage"

Use connectors such as AND: "emotional intelligence” And job skill; "college majors" And workforce"

Use connectors such as OR: "climate change" OR "global warming"; advertising OR marketing AND Nike 

Consider different words that represent the same concept: teacher OR professor OR instructor OR trainer 

Find Open Textbooks
Find textbooks and full course material packages in our new, streamlined collection for educators
LibreTexts project
LibreTexts project is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.
Glossary of Grammar Terms
This glossary includes a complete list of the grammar terms and definitions covered in our free grammar lessons, with convenient links to the lessons relating to each grammar term.
Public Domain Works
In 2022, the public domain will welcome a lot of “firsts”: the first Winnie-the-Pooh book by A. A. Milne, the first published novels from Ernest Hemingway and William Faulkner, the first books of poems from Langston Hughes and Dorothy Parker. Works from 1926 are open to all, as is a cornucopia of recorded music: an estimated 400,000 sound recordings from before 1923!
A guide to learning English
The purpose of this website is to guide learners in effective, enjoyable ways of improving their English and doing well in education. 
Dave's ESL Cafe Grammar Lessons
Great resources for learning grammar. There are also links to fun quizzes and student forums under the "Stuff for Students" section.
Great Grammar Websites for Adult English Language Learners 
(from the blog of TESOL* International Association) *Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
Learn American English Online
This website provides seven levels of instruction in American English. It also includes a section on American slang!
Perfect English Grammar
Although this website is in British English, it is easily searchable and includes exercises where you can practice English grammar.
English with Jennifer
English with Jennifer offers both free and paid help with English grammar. There is an app and a YouTube channel, as well.

This site is most useful for advanced users, but it contains many quizzes, each of which focuses on a particular grammar point.

BowValley College ESL Literacy Readers

These online books can be sorted by reading level. They all include both audio and text so that you can listen to the pronunciation of words as you read.

The Grammar Essentials area of the Excelsior OWL will provide you with a thorough overview of punctuation, grammar and usage, and some of  the most common errors students in the United States struggle with.

Students whose first language is not English reflect on nature through readings, a visit to a green area, and bookmaking using the writing process and peer feedback.

Overview: Help Spanish-speaking English-language learners unlock the mysteries of their new language by using a bilingual book to recognize unfamiliar words and construct meaning from the text.

Northern Illinois University Effective Writing Practices Tutorial section focuses on the most common grammatical mistakes made in writing. The mistakes are organized under 13 grammatical categories. In each of these categories, the tutorial presents an error, explains it, and shows ways of avoiding or correcting it. Use the examples and explanations in this section as reminders when you proofread and edit your written work.

Towson University's Online Writing Support site provides a comprehensive basic grammar tutorial, including explanations of grammar topics, self-teaching units, and interactive exercises. 

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) is a well-organized, searchable site offering information and exercises for writing at all levels and for various purposes. Resources are organized for the needs of specific types of writers: middle and high school students, college students, instructors, adult learners (ESL, GED, Business), and professional writers. Browse the Purdue OWL site map to discover a wide range of writing topics and resources.

Study Zone is for students of the English Language Centre (ELC) at the University of Victoria. ELC teachers create the English language lessons and practice exercises. The site is designed for our adult English language learners, but all are welcome to read the lessons and use the exercises.

Writing Commons is a free, peer-reviewed resource for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.

UW-Madison Writer's Handbook, from the University of Wisconsin Writing Center, offers instructional materials for academic and professional writing--including research papers, literary analysis, cover letters, and resumes--as well as writing process and structure, grammar and punctuation, and citing references using various styles.   

Grammar Bytes! Grammar Instruction with Attitude, created by Valencia College English Prof. Robin L. Simmons, includes grammar terminology and rules, printable handouts, PowerPoint presentations and videos, and interactive exercises.

The Punctuation Guide is a comprehensive reference for American-style punctuation.