It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Acute Cardiac Emergency Part 1 &2
Care Controversies at the End of Life
Effective Nurse-Patient Therapeutic Interactions
Health Care Experience Abroad
Ineffective Nurse-Patient Therapeutic Interactions
Medication Management Part 1 &2
Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practiced in the clinical setting.
Chapter 1: Introduction to Health and Wellness
Chapter 2: Physical Activity
Chapter 3: Stress Management
Chapter 4: Weight Management
Chapter 5: Infectious Diseases
Chapter 6: Relationships and Sexuality
Chapter 7: Cardiovascular Disease
Chapter 8: Cancer
Chapter 9: Violence and Injury
Chapter 10: Drug Use and Addiction
Chapter 11: Alcohol and Tobacco Use
Chapter 12: Nutrition
Chapter 13: Mental and Emotional Health
Chapter 14: Complementary and Integrative Health
Chapter 15: Consumer Health
This LibGuides-based open textbook was created through a Round 13 Textbook Transformation Grant. The text covers an overview of nursing history, professional roles, professional education, legal and ethical considerations, evidence based practice, caring, the culture of nursing, technology and informatics, and nursing theories.
A backup PDF of the entire text and a .zip file of individual PDF chapters is also available for download.
Leadership and Influencing Change in Nursing is designed for a single-semester introduction to the professional nurse’s leadership role as both a care provider and a formal leader. Nursing students will take this course in their third year as they prepare to assume a professional nursing role within the clinical health care environment. An assortment of authors with diverse nursing leadership roles across Saskatchewan and Canada have contributed to this textbook. These diverse voices are focused on providing student nurses with the foundational tools, techniques, and knowledge required to empower them to meet the leadership challenges found within the incessantly changing Canadian health care environment. Assembling this information using an online format allows for the material to be updated regularly so as to keep pace with the rapid expansion of knowledge.
Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know should be an essential component of basic educational preparation for the professional registered nurse student. Recent studies show that only one in four nurses feel confident in caring for dying patients and their families and less than 2% of overall content in nursing textbooks is related to end-of-life care, despite the tremendous growth in palliative and end-of-life care programs across the country. The purpose of this textbook is to provide an indepth look at death and dying in this country, including the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families along the journey towards the end of life. There is an emphasis throughout the book on the simple, yet understated value of effective interpersonal communication between the patient and clinician. The text provides a basic foundation of understanding death and dying, including a brief historical examination of some main conceptual models associated with how patients cope with impending loss. An overview of illness trajectories and models of care, such as hospice and palliative care are discussed. Lastly, the latest evidence-based approaches for pain and symptom management, ethical concerns, cultural considerations, care at the time of death, and grief/bereavement are examined. The goal of this text is to foster the necessary skills for nurses to provide compassionate care to individuals who are nearing the end of life and their families. Every chapter contains a “What You Should Know” section which highlights and reinforces foundational concepts.
This OER Nursing Textbook focuses on the use of critical thinking in nursing practice. The definition of critical thinking and the application of critical thinking skills in clinical practice, leadership, communication, quality improvement, and more is included. Each chapter includes images, critical thinking exercises, discussions, and activities.
This text provides a pivotal learning experience for students transitioning from an associ- ate degree education to a baccalaureate degree. Content includes a broad overview of the nursing profession, the role of accrediting and professional organizations with a strong focus on the American Nurses Association’s foundational documents. The competencies of the Standards of Professional Practice and the Code of Ethics are weaved throughout the text.
GW School of Nursing is pleased to share this collection of Open Educational Resources (OERs) for use by nurse educators worldwide. These interactive multimedia learning materials are outcomes of several grant-funded research projects
"Assess your health with interactive tools such as calculators, quizzes, and questionnaires. You can check your risk for heart disease, calculate your ideal weight and body mass, find out how many calories your favorite exercise burns, and more."
The Portal of Geriatrics Online Education (POGOe) is free collection of expert-contributed geriatrics educational materials for educators and learners. POGOe's mission is to encourage the free exchange of teaching and assessment materials in order to promote geriatrics education in the fields of geriatrics and gerontology. You will find teaching tools, images, videos, a question bank, and much more.