Library Databases/Resources - Professor Barron - Literature

Library Resources (Databases)

This searches for books, ebooks, journal articles, streaming media, and more.

When searching - use keywords & concepts rather than entire sentences.
Brainstorm for keywords. Google can be a great place to discover keywords.
Search using a root word followed by an asterisk. Ex: politic* = politics, political, politicising
Search the Library databases and see what kind of results you get.

If you are not happy with the results try the synonyms of your keywords

try another database.

Keywords:

Literature AND colonialism AND Spain
Literature AND colonialism AND Caribbean
Literature AND colonialism AND United States
Post-colonialism AND literature
Post-colonialism AND literature and Spain
Caribbean literature AND post-colonialism

Keywords

Search using keywords rather than entire sentences.

Keywords:

Literature AND colonialism AND Spain
Literature AND colonialism AND Caribbean
Literature AND colonialism AND United States
Post-colonialism AND literature
Post-colonialism AND literature and Spain
Caribbean literature AND post-colonialism

JSTOR
This database includes all 2,800+ JSTOR academic journals that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.
History Reference Center
History Reference Center offers full-text from more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full-text for 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Gale Literature
Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search and find content across these resources in entirely new ways. Gale Literature features a new mobile-responsive design with all of the same features of Artemis Literary Sources, but with the ability to cross-search all of Gales literature databases. It includes full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, primary sources, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Gale Literary Sources replaces Artemis Literary Sources.
Gale OneFile: World History
Gale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines for use by novice historians and advanced academic researchers. World History offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
Humanities Source
Humanities Source offers worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, with coverage dating back to 1907. Subjects include: archaeology, art, classical studies, dance and reviews of ballets, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary criticism, literature, music, performing arts, and philosophy.

Art	Criminal Justice	Geography	Nursing
Arts and Humanities	Dance	Health & Medicine	Philosophy and Religion
Biography	Dentistry	History	Physical Sciences
Biology	Diversity	K-12 Resources	Popular Culture
Business	Economics	Law & Public Affairs	Psychology
Careers	Education	Library Catalogs	Reference
Chemistry	Environmental Science	Literature	Sciences
Citation Styles	Folklore	Mathematics	Social Sciences
Communications	Foreign Language	Music	Streaming Media
Computers & Technology	General (Multi-Disciplinary)	News & Current Events	Theater