Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International: Library Resources, Services and Updates for Faculty

Updates for Faculty

New Databases

Login required!

New e-Resources have been added to our A-Z Databases list:

New eResources

Open Textbook Library- 7/26/2022

Description:
Open Textbook Library has textbooks that are free to use and distribute and include subjects ranging from Business, Computer Science, Education, Engineering, Humanities, Journalism, Communications, Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Student Success and more to be used by higher education institutions, scholarly societies, and/or professional organizations.


History Vault: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century (1636-1880)- 5/11/2022

History Vault: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century (1636-1880) documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade. Collections in this module on the slave trade are sourced by ProQuest from the Rhode Island Historical Society, Southern Historical Collection at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and the U.S. National Archives. In addition to records on the slave trade, this module also includes a series of letters received by the Attorney General on law and order in nineteenth century America. These letters cover the slave trade, general slavery matters including runaway slaves and rights of slaves, and other legal issues.

Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection- 5/11/2022

Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other. These essential visual examples will prepare nurses to better assess, diagnose, and manage mental health issues in patients.

--

World Book eBook Platform - 4/27/2022

Support classroom instruction and library reading initiatives with over 2,500 titles, including World Book exclusive content and classic literature (novels, plays, poems, and nonfiction). With 24/7 unlimited, simultaneous access and unlimited renewals per book per user, World Book eBooks are available anytime, anywhere, and feature a free downloadable app compatible with Apple, Windows, and Android devices.

For more info, please see PDF: World Book eBook Brochure.pdf at the bottom of this box.

--

Broward College Archives and Special Collections - 3/11/2022

The following collections have been on our A-Z Database list:

 

These collections include rare books, student publications including literary magazines and newspapers, college catalogs, photographs covering Broward College's history, and much more.

US Southeast Newsstream - 2/11/2022

US Southeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Southeast Newsstream covers news sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Florida Online Journals - 2/11/2022

Florida Online Journals is a scholarly journals publishing program hosted by the Florida Virtual Campus (FLVC) and the Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative (FALSC). Using the Open Journals System (OJS) software, users are able to: support the electronic publication process (from submission through initial publication), host online copies of print or electronic journal publications, and provide access to locally held licensed commercial journals.

13, October 2021

You've been asking and the library has answered!  

Wall Street Journal has been added to the BC Library's databases. 

Broward College and The Wall Street Journal have partnered to provide school-sponsored WSJ memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to The Wall Street Journal’s trusted, factual news via WSJ.com and the app—including curated career content at students.wsj.com, and The Journal podcast. Activate your complimentary membership at WSJ.com/Broward to get unlimited access, WSJ apps, podcasts, curated newsletters and more.

First time users will need to create a password as part of their WSJ registration process. This is a one time setup,after which you will have seamless access. 

How WSJ Access Works  

  • Students, faculty and staff are required to activate their WSJ account via the URL.  
  • Students will have seamless access through graduation.  
  • Faculty and staff will be required to refresh access once a year. An email will notify the user when they need to refresh.  
  • For those who have a personal WSJ membership and want to take advantage of your complimentary school-sponsored membership they can call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel.  


This information has also been posted to our New e-Resources libguides page. Also, attached are flyers with useful information on how to use Wall Street Journal.  

 

Updates


25, October 2021

Exciting Enhancements in
Issues & Controversies Are Now Live!

Your improved Issues & Controversies is here—boasting new and improved functionality and much more. We encourage you to LOG IN and start exploring! 

 

Be sure to spread the word about this update with staff and users! Feel free to reach out to Customer Support for more information.

 

KEY ENHANCEMENTS:

  • Improved responsive design—optimized for computer, tablet, and mobile
  • Improved home page design based on customer feedback
  • Improved page tool functionality
  • Access the database’s rich resources from every page using the top-left drop-down menu—Pro/Con Articles, Issues, Videos, Court Cases, Bill of Rights in Debate, and more key content is always at your fingertips
  • Dynamic citation options now include NoodleTools export functionality for all records
  • Improved Bill of Rights section, including new overview intro and linked articles 
  • Plus, a wealth of new content! 

Check out your improved Issues & Controversies now!