It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Faculty Resources and Services
An overview of library services and resources for faculty
The University/College Library is a joint-use facility located on the A. Hugh Adams Central Campus (Building 17) serving Broward College (BC) and Florida Atlantic University (FAU). This guide provides an overview of library policies and procedures, services, and resources for your curriculum needs. We value your feedback. Feel free to contact us and share your suggestions.
FAU Faculty Electronic Resource Access
Many electronic resources from the University/College Library are available to FAU faculty. Due to complex licensing and authentication through the state, not all of our databases are available to FAU faculty.
To take advantage of these resources, you must register in person at the University/College Library Check In/Check Out desk.
Please call the Reference Desk at 954-201-6653 if you have any questions.
Provides streaming access to over 2,600 videos, including BBC Shakespeare Collection plays and other BBC classics. Subject areas include the social sciences, literature, diversity, fine arts, history, biology and anatomy, environmental sciences, physics, chemistry, geography, astronomy and the sciences. Videos are 100% fully searchable, closed-captioned, and accommodate unlimited simultaneous users. It contains eight citation styles, image galleries for each video, and have Public Performance Rights.
ACM Digital Library provides full text articles covering all of computing: software, hardware, networking, information science, instructional technology, human-computer interaction, and more. Subject matter includes education, IT, forensic science, business, environmental science, and computer science.
The Gale eBook platform enables users to find and retrieve multi-disciplinary digital content from Gale imprints, and those of over 150 publishing partners. Titles are authoritative, relevant and DRM free and ebooks are accessible! Audio files can be downloaded and saved onto any mobile device and read aloud in nearly 25 languages. Content can be translated as well. Ebook content is highly findable via detailed indexing, Discovery Services and MARC records. Formatted citations are easily exported; bookmarked links will never change and may be shared with non-users. Users can enable easy web reading with HTML or enjoy a more visual experience with cover-to-cover book view.
Includes National Geographic Magazine (the official journal of the National Geographic Society) and People, Animals, and the World. Topics covered include animals, environment, history, people and cultures, science and technology, and travel. Content includes articles, maps, videos, ebooks, and photography. 1888 - present.
OpinionArchives provides full-text searchable coverage of newspaper articles and opinion journals starting from 1850, including titles like The American Spectator, Commentary, Harper’s Magazine, National Review, The New Yorker, and more.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Project MUSE includes a collection of more than 800 eBooks on art, archaeology, anthropology, architecture, biology, communications and journalism, creative writing, criminal justice, diversity, economics, ecology, education, environmental sciences, folklore, geography, history, law, literature, medicine and health, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, social sciences, theater, and more. To get access to available content, select ‘Only content I have full access to.’ A lock icon means there is no access to content.
Swank Digital Campus is a streaming film database. It provides digital access to course-related films and allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time. The films cover a wide range of topics. Faculty members are welcome to request a film for a class. Playback of movies on a computer occurs in a web browser. Swank Digital Campus supports operating systems and browsers that are currently maintained by Microsoft and Apple.
Transparent Language Online offers interactive training in 80 languages. Vocabulary flash cards, pronunciation practice, activities/games, culture blogs, online social communities, and video-based grammar lessons are included. Basic to intermediate level. Apple and Android apps are available. First time users must create a free personal account with a BC email address.
Currently unavailable - 9/13/2021.
U.S. Government Online provides information about the structure, function, and history of the U.S. government. It includes introductory essays, primary source documents, encyclopedias, images and videos, tables, charts, and maps, and news articles. Great for assignments about branches of government, immigration, and political processes.
Value Line is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 3,500 stocks in 97 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Our subscription also includes the Small & Mid Cap Investment Survey. Access is limited to three simultaneous users.
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Full text available from 1997. To get access to available content, filter results by Publication Type, then select Journals.
EBSCO ebook Collection. Access to the platform is blocked, but we have a large EBSCO ebook collection that you can use via the catalog search on our home page.
Access is not provided
The Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative (FALSC) is unable to authorize FAU patron access to resources licensed only for college use. They are also unable to authorize access to a BC-licensed product on a platform licensed only for college use. Hence, these do not work:
ABC-CLIO (African American Experience, Latino American Experience, Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society, Pop Culture Universe, World Folklore and Folklife, World Religions)
Safari (platform is blocked; titles are accessible from catalog)