Skip to main content

International: Library Resources, Services and Updates for Faculty

Updates for Faculty

Updates

February 18, 2020

EBSCO has made complimentary eBook collections available to six of our EBSCO databases:

These eBook collections contain nonfiction and reference books from top educational publishers, including Abdo Publishing Company, Cherry Lake Publishing, Crabtree Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Rourke Publishing and dozens of university presses. In addition, the Literary Reference Center Plus eBook Collection contains several classic fiction titles. These titles have unlimited user access and are also discoverable through Mango.

More info on these collections can be found here and here.


January 30, 2020

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) is now APA PsycArticles. This name change is reflected on our A-Z Databases list and this information has been posted to our Announcements libguide page.


January 14, 2020

New

Cancelled

  • Mergent Intellect has been cancelled and removed from our A-Z Databases list.
    • This information has been posted on our Cancellations libguide page.

January 6, 2020

PubMed will be migrating to a new platform this month. The new platform will have a responsive layout to better support a wide range of mobile devices and tablets and will feature an improved search enhancement.

The new platform is available to try here and more information on the upcoming update can be found here.

Also, a few of our resources from Gale will be migrating to Gale’s new platform on December 20th, 2019 and some will have name changes. Please see table below:

PRODUCT

ENHANCED USER INTERFACE

MODIFIED NAME?

NEW NAME

LAUNCH DATE

Directory of Literary Biography

Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography

December 20th, 2019

Gale Directory Library

 

 

December 20th, 2019

Gale Literary Sources

Gale Literature

December 20th, 2019

LitFinder

Gale Literature: LitFinder

December 20th, 2019

Literature Criticism Online

Gale Literature Criticism

December 20th, 2019

Something About the Author Online

Gale Literature: Something About the Author

December 20th, 2019


September 17, 2019

As part of the new enhancements Gale has been rolling out, Gale Virtual Reference Library is now Gale eBooks. The name change has been reflected on our A-Z Databases page. The interface has been updated as well. For a full list of what was changed, see the product update


August 5, 2019

The Chronicle of Higher Education has been removed from our A-Z Database list.

However, BC students and faculty can access the Fulltext HTML through:

  • EBSCO databases:
    • Academic Search Complete
    • Education Source
    • MasterFILE Premier
  • Gale databases (with 1 month embargo):
    • Business Insights: Essentials
    • Gale Academic OneFile
    • Gale Academic OneFile Select
    • Gale General OneFile
    • Gale In Context: Biography
    • Gale OneFile: Business
    • Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
    • General Reference Center Gold

July 26, 2019

Our A-Z Databases page has been updated to reflect the modified name changes of the Gale resources below.

 

OLD NAME

ENHANCED UI?

MODIFIED NAME?

NEW NAME

Academic OneFile

Y

Y

Gale Academic OneFile

Biography In Context

Y

Y

Gale In Context: Biography

Business Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Business

Communication & Mass Media Complete Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media

Computer Database

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Computer Science

Criminal Justice Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice

DemographicsNow

 

Y

Gale Business: DemographicsNow

Diversity Studies Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies

Educators Reference Complete

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy

Expanded Academic ASAP

Y

Y

Gale Academic OneFile Select

Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture

Gender Studies Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies

General OneFile

Y

Y

Gale General OneFile

General Science Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Science

Health Reference Center Academic

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Y

Y

Gale Health and Wellness

Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism

Information Science & Library Issues Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Information Science

Informe Académico

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Informe Académico

Military and Intelligence Database

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Y

Y

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Popular Culture Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy

Small Business Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship

Small Business Resource Center

Y

Y

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship

U.S. History Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: U.S. History

Vocation and Careers Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers

World History Collection

Y

Y

Gale OneFile: World History

 

All of the resources above, were also updated with an enhanced user interface (except for Gale Business: DemographicsNow). For an overview of the product enhancements, please click here: https://www.gale.com/product-enhancements/overview. There will be more updates in late August and in Winter.

New Databases

Login required!

New e-Resources have been added to our A-Z Databases list:

 

Description:

US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.  For academic libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal.  US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.


 

RefWorks (ProQuest) has been added to our A-Z Databases list.

 

RefWorks (ProQuest)

Description:

RefWorks is a premier reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty, and librarians. With a refined user experience, full-text management, collaboration and other features you’d expect from a reference management solution, RefWorks enables students and faculty to have an efficient and reliable process for producing the best research papers and grants.  Note: To get a RefWorks account, click on “Create account” and follow the instructions.

RefWorks replaces EasyBib.

Additional information:

Welcome to the New RefWorks!

ProQuest RefWorks Customer Resources