Criminal Justice: A Brief introduction, 13th Ed. by Frank SchmallegerFor introductory courses in criminal justice. The gold standard for criminal justice texts Criminal Justice: A Brief Introduction examines crime in the US with a focus on police, courts, and corrections. Students contemplate the fine line separating freedom from security, and evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of the American justice system. A wealth of Internet resources along with author tweets (@schmalleger) build on central ideas in the text, while keeping pace with changes in a continually changing field. Emphasizing the need for systemic change, the 13th edition includes revised coverage of large-scale crimes pervasive in the US, as well as policing issues and challenges, sentencing guidelines, and state laws redefining the age of criminal responsibility. Criminal Justice: A Brief Introduction, 13th Edition, is also available via Revel(tm) , an interactive learning environment that enables students to read, practice, and study in one continuous experience.
Call Number: Available at the Central Campus Library, BCL South, ASC North & ASC Miramar West
Publication Date: 2019
Feature films available for streaming (Login Required)
Criminal Justice Database covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.