Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 - Prof. Marilyn Daniels: Write Your Paper

This research page is designed to help you successfully complete your literature assignment

ASC @ Central

Academic Success Center

Central Writing Lab
Online Assistance

The primary purpose of the BC Writing Center is to provide a friendly, helpful atmosphere in which students can review their writing skills and receive help with composition skills and research techniques.

“All Broward College students are welcome to drop by the Writing Center. Broward College students can have their composition, essay, research, and technical writing reviewed for FREE by the writing center tutors. Please contact the writing center to set up a 30 minute, one-on-one tutoring session.”
 
You can make an appointment online by visiting mywco.com/ASCcentral​​

Books on College Writing

Online Research Tips

Organize Your Writing

This informative video explains how to organize your writing at the college level.

From Calltech.edu

Thesis

This quick video explains how to form a thesis statement for your college research paper.

From tulsaccprof

Writing a paper is like making a sandwich

This part of the building process is all about organizing your paper.

Remember, making your paper is like making a sandwich; top bun (thesis), protein and garnishes (facts), bottom bun (conclusion).

Develop an argument, take a stance, and reinforce your thesis statement with the facts that you uncover during the research process.

Find eBooks

eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7.

This searches only for ebooks. Locate other library materials using the U/C Library Catalog

   

Note: You will have to log in to read an ebook. Your Borrower ID is your BC ID#.

Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD.
(For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.)

 

eBook Collections at your Library!

Below is a list of eBook collections available through the U/C Library. When logging in, please use your Borrower ID number (student ID or employee ID) and your two-digit month and two-digit day of your birthdate (MMDD).

eBooks on College Writing

From Topic to Thesis : A Guide to Theological Research

From Topic to Thesis: A Guide to Theological Research offers a third option. This affordable and accessible tool walks students through the process, focusing on five steps: finding direction, gathering sources, understanding issues, entering discussion and establishing a position. Its goal is to take students directly from a research assignment to a research argument--in other words, from topic to thesis.

Academic Writing

Each of the fourteen chapters explores different aspects of academic writing from practical, professional and theoretical perspectives. The book is written for students, teachers and educators at tertiary organisations. Word connoisseurs, debaters, writers and readers may also enjoy its argumentations and analyses.

How Novels Work

Never has contemporary fiction been more widely discussed and passionately analysed; recent years have seen a huge growth in the number of reading groups and in the interest of a non-academic readership in the discussion of how novels work. Drawing on his weekly Guardian column, 'Elements of Fiction', John Mullan examines novels mostly of the last ten years, many of which have become firm favourites with reading groups. He reveals the rich resources of novelistictechnique, setting recent fiction alongside classics of the past.

Sin Boldly! : Dr. Dave's Guide To Writing The College Paper

Cheeky, original, and decidedly practical to boot, Sin Boldly! is unlike any other writing handbook available. Jammed with sage advice, genuine encouragement, and surprising examples (of how to write and how not to write), this book gives beginning writers and confident students alike an easy-to-follow roadmap for improving one of the most important skills for success.

The Academic Writer's Toolkit : A User's Manual

Berger's slim, user-friendly volume on academic writing is a gift to linguistically-stressed academics. Author of 60 published books, the author speaks to junior scholars and graduate students about the process and products of academic writing. He differentiates between business writing skills for memos, proposals, and reports, and the scholarly writing that occurs in journals and books.

The Good Paper : A Handbook for Writing Papers in Higher Education

The good paper is a handbook for writing research papers, BA and other projects, theses, essays etc. in Danish higher education. The book is written for students who must independently formulate a research question and search for literature for their research papers: bachelor theses, research papers, projects at all levels of project oriented education, master and diploma theses.--p. 4 of covers.

Whole Novels for the Whole Class : A Student-Centered Approach

Rather than using novels simply to teach basic literacy skills and comprehension strategies, Whole Novels approaches literature as art. The book is fully aligned with the Common Core ELA Standards and offers tips for implementing whole novels in various contexts, including suggestions for teachers interested in trying out small steps in their classrooms first. Includes a powerful method for teaching literature, writing, and critical thinking to middle school students Shows how to use the Whole Novels approach in conjunction with other programs Includes video clips of the author using the techniques in her own classroom.