Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Statista: Digital Markets

Statista provides statistics, reports, forecasts and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources. Strong in business and current events.

Digital Market Outlook

Statista's Digital Market Outlook provides forecasts, detailed market insights and key performance figures on the most important sectors of the "Digital Economy". Based on the constant observation of markets and trends and the substantial market expertise provided by Statista's analysts, the Digital Market Outlook delivers insights into trending consumer behavior and the demographic structure of digital consumer market.

You can explore the Digital Market Outlook in the U.S. by clicking on one of the Digital Market icons below.

Digital Media


Digital Media is defined as audiovisual media contents and applications that are distributed directly over the Internet. This includes digital video contents (e.g. movies, series and TV shows), digital music provided as download or internet-stream as well as digital games for different devices and electronically published content such as eBooks, eMagazines or ePaper.

Digital Advertising

Digital Advertising uses the internet to deliver marketing messages via various formats to internet users. This includes banners (e.g. Skyscrapers, Overlays, Rich media formats), video pre-rolls or mid-rolls, search engine advertising as well as online classifieds and social media advertising.

The eCommerce market encompasses the sale of physical goods via a digital channel to a private end user (B2C). Incorporated in this definition are purchases via desktop computer (including notebooks and laptops) as well as purchases via mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets. The following are not included in the eCommerce market: digitally distributed services (see instead: eServices), digital media downloads or streams, digitally distributed goods in B2B markets nor digital purchase or resale of used, defective or repaired goods (reCommerce and C2C).

Smart Home

The Smart Home market constitutes the sale of networked devices and related services that enable home automation for private end users (B2C). Considered are devices that are connected directly or indirectly via a so-called gateway to the Internet. Their main purposes are the control, monitoring and regulation of functions in a private household.

FinTech

FinTech is short for ‘Financial Technology’, the central concept of structural change and digitization within the financial services industry. Under the collective name FinTech (which still lacks a clear definition even within the industry), financial services are understood within the framework of the Digital Market Outlook; digital infrastructures allowing the establishment of new types of agreements and procedures in the classic areas of banking such as lending, investment strategies and payments.

eHealth

The “eHealth” market contains user and revenue developments in three market segments: “diabetes”, “hypertension” and “heart failure”. These are selected, relevant health areas that do not represent the eHealth market in its entirety.

eTravel

The eTravel market is defined by the sale of online services and digital goods via the internet. The definition includes online travel bookings (package holidays, hotels and vacation rentals) and mobility tickets for services such as flights, long-distance bus tickets, train travel, car rentals and ride sharing services. The ticket reservation or purchase can be completed on a desktop PC or via mobile devices (Smartphones or Tablets).

sServices

The eServices market is defined by the sale of online services and digital goods via the internet. The definition includes event tickets (sport events, music events and cinema tickets), fitness apps and wearables, dating services (matchmaking, online dating, casual dating) as well as food delivery (online takeaway and restaurant delivery). The ticket reservation or purchase can be completed on a desktop PC or via mobile devices (Smartphones or Tablets).

Connected Car


The Connected Car market includes the one-time purchase of hardware, which enables vehicles to network in various ways, as well as regularly collected fees for various services. A car is considered "connected" as soon as it has been designed to have direct internet access by factory, thus enabling the car to communicate with other connected cars, smartphones, and the environment, as well as exchange information.