Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Statista: Consumer Markets

Statista provides statistics, reports, forecasts and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources. Strong in business and current events.

Consumer Market

The Statista's Consumer market Outlook portrays the most important consumer markets and products categories and examines the essential Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) for each market. Forecasts for each individual country and market are based on industry-specific data as well as general indicators like gross domestic products and import/export volumes of consumer good trade.

You can explore Consumer Market Outlook in the U.S. by clicking on one of the Consumer Market icons below.

Alcoholic Drinks

The Alcoholic Drinks market includes all alcoholic beverages that are produced by fermentation or distillation. The market here is divided into four main segments; Beer, Spirits, Wine and 'Cider, Perry and Beer Mix Drinks'. The biggest players in this field are Anheuser-Busch InBev, Heineken and Diageo. The market for alcoholic drinks is structured into off-trade sales (in stores) and on-trade sales (in bars, restaurants etc.). Statista values off-trade sales at retail prices and on-trade sales at purchasing prices to the on-trade establishments.

non-Alcoholic Drinks

The Non-Alcoholic Drinks market includes bottled water, soft drinks and juices. Globally significant producers are Coca-Cola Corporation, PepsiCo and Nestlé. This market does not include hot drinks, milk mix drinks nor powdered drinks and syrups for post-mix production on-site. The market for Non-Alcoholic Drinks is structured into off-trade sales (in stores) and on-trade sales (in bars, restaurants etc.).

Hot Drinks

The Hot Drinks market includes roasted coffee, instant coffee, tea and cocoa. These are products that are designed to be consumed with hot water or other liquids. Brand names in this category include Nescafé, Lipton and Twining of London. The market for hot drinks is structured into off-trade sales (in stores) and on-trade sales (in coffee shops etc.).

Food

The Food market includes all processed foods which have been prepared or preserved in some way. Unprocessed foods such as fresh fruits and vegetables are not included here. Food represents a significant part of household expenditure, but its relative importance compared to other products decreases with increasing income. The four highest sales volumes are seen in the following segments: Meat Products, Dairy Products, Baked Goods and Confectionery. The leading brands in these markets are produced by the large multinational consumer goods companies, Nestlé, Unilever and Danone.

Tobacco Products

The market for tobacco products is constituted here by (filtered) cigarettes, smoking tobacco (fine-cut tobacco, pipe tobacco) and cigars and cigarillos. Snuff and chewing tobacco as well as e-cigarettes and e-liquids are not included at the moment nor are untaxed tobacco products.

Home and Laundry Care

The Home and Laundry Care market covers cleaning products for private households. The market is differentiated by application fields: Laundry Care covers detergents for fabric care. Household Cleaners cover household detergents for surface care (incl. bleach and toilet care products). Dishwashing contains detergents for washing dishes and cutlery, and Polishes, Room Scents and Insecticides cover the remaining specialty products. The market takes into account consumable detergents for use in private households only (B2C). Auxiliary cleaning equipment (e.g. mops and brooms) are not included in the shown sales figures. Also excluded are professional products for industry use or household cleaning services (B2B). The market for Home and Laundry Care products is characterized by relatively low grwoth rates and is dominated by a few big brand manufacturers such as Procter & Gamble, Unilever, Reckitt Benckiser, Henkel, Kao and Lion.

Cosmetics and Personal Care

The Cosmetics and Personal Care market is here defined as consumer goods for beauty and body care. Beauty services, such as hairdressers and nail salons, are not included. Products that primarily serve medical purposes are also excluded here but shown as part of the OTC Pharmaceuticals market. The cosmetics industry is characterised by a handful of global players with internationally recognized brands of which the most important are L'Oréal, Unilever, Procter & Gamble, Estee Lauder, Shiseido and Beiersdorf.

Tissue and Hygiene

The market for Tissue and Hygiene Paper includes tissue products (toilet paper, handkerchiefs, paper towels, kitchen rolls and similar products) and sanitary hygiene products such as feminine hygiene products (tampons, sanitary pads etc.), baby diapers and incontinence products (adult diapers). The depicted market value reflects both the consumer market (B2C) as well as the professional Away-from-Home (AfH tissue) markets which caters to commercial customers like private companies and hospitals. The consumer share of each segment is valued at retail prices (incl. VAT) whereas the AfH tissue is valued at wholesale prices (excl. VAT). The average price shown is therefore an average of both the B2C and B2B market. The high capital intensity of the industry and the relative saturation of its markets has led to the consolidation of the field into just a few dominant companies. The most important manufacturers to name are SCA, Procter & Gamble, Kimberly-Clark, Unicharm, Hengan, Sofidel, and Metsä.

Apparel


The Apparel market is the most important non-food segment within the European retail sector. It comprises all clothing segments that are produced for private end customers. This market is broken down into the following product lines: women’s apparel, men’s apparel, sportswear and swimwear, underwear, hosiery and other clothes. Work clothes as well as other personal accessories such as watches and jewelry, handbags or similar items that do not count as actual articles of clothing are not included.

Footwear

The Footwear market comprises all kinds of shoes which are produced for private end customers, therefore excluding work and safety shoes. With a volume of more than 70 billion Euros, Footwear is the second most important fashion segment within the European retail business just behind apparel. The most important brand manufacturers are Clarks, Geox and Ecco.

Eyewear

The Eyewear market covers unmounted spectacle lenses, sunglasses, frames for spectacles, and contact lenses for private end consumers, excluding protective eyewear and safety glasses. The most important brands, especially when it comes to sunglasses, are Ray-Ban, Dior, Gucci, Boss, and Prada.

Accessories

The Accessories market comprises wearable, fashionable accessories that complement a person's outfit such as watches, jewelry, suitcases, bags, wallets, handbags and other containers for private end consumers. Like the Apparel market, the Accessories market relies heavily on imports.

Consumer Electronics

The Consumer Electronics market comprises electronic and digital devices used privately either for entertainment (television sets, radios , etc.), communication (telephones, smart phones, etc.) or home-office activities (printers, copiers). Consumer electronics and household appliances (such as washing machines and refrigerators) are often sold by the same retailers, but the latter are excluded from this market outlook as they serve a purpose different than the one mentioned above. This market outlook includes both b2c (business to consumer) and b2b (business to business) sales, which is relevantly when it comes to the office electronics. Big brands in this category are Samsung, Dell, HP, Apple, LG, Sony, etc.

Household Appliances

The Household Appliances market covers appliances that are usually used in private households. The retail sector also refers to kitchen appliances as white goods. The market is divided into major and small home appliances, while consumer electronics are not included here (therefor see Consumer Electronics). The largest manufacturers of home appliances are AEG, Bosch, Siemens, Miele, Bauknecht, KitchenAid, Whirlpool, and Groupe SEB (Rowenta, Tefal, Krups, Moulinex).

Furniture

The Furniture market centers on different movable commodities designed to support various activities, like seating or sleeping, holding or storing objects, etc. Unmovable household objects (e.g. sinks, faucets, etc.) are excluded as well as tableware, cutlery and other small objects, while this market outlook includes both B2C (business to consumer) and B2B (business to business) sales (e.g. furniture for coffee shops, offices, etc.).

OTC Pharmaceuticals

The Over-the-Counter Pharmaceuticals market comprises over-the-counter medicine that can be purchased without a medical prescription. The market is subdivided into analgesics, cold and cough medication, digestives and intestinal remedies, skin treatment products and vitamins and minerals. It includes both products which are exclusively sold in pharmacies and products which can be purchased elsewhere. Sales by hospitals are not included.

Hobby Products

The Hobby Products market focuses on goods people buy for their leisure activities. This includes traditional toys and games for children and adults, video games consoles, various musical instruments and their accessories, equipment for indoor and outdoor sports activities, as well as equipment for fishing.

Passenger Cars

The Automotive Consumer Market Outlook provides information about passenger cars, including economy and family, sports and luxury cars as well as minivans and SUVs. It excludes motorcycles, buses, trucks and large vans as well as utility light utility vehicles We based our market segmentation on several factors, including physical properties (mass, volume, footprint = (front track width + rear track width)/2 x wheelbase, etc.) and consumer base (pricing, status, etc.).