Skip to Main Content
Welcome to Broward College Libraries

NUR 1020 - Prof. Harris-Smith: Articles

An introduction to the nursing resources

Why Articles?

In nursing, it is very important to use journal articles to find current research on a topic or issue. While books are excellent for background and reference information, they are not published as frequently as articles. When searching for articles, your date range should fall between three to five years, as data and statistics can become dated very quickly. Journal articles can be found by using the library databases that are appropriate for your nursing topic.
 
Above is a list of nursing-related journals available in our library. Most of these titles are also available in full text in the article databases. However, we carry current issues of some titles in print and those are indicated with an asterisk (*).

What is a database?

A database is a searchable collection of information. In library research, a database is where you can find sources such as journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Some databases offer sources on various subject areas while others are specific to a discipline or subject area.

Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals & Academic Journals

Source

Description

Magazine

Magazines are written for the general public. They feature lots of    pictures and advertisements. The authors of the articles are often staff writers. The content includes information on current events, entertainment and special features.

Newspaper

Information in newspapers is targeted toward the general public. Newspapers usually feature black and white print and photographs. The articles are written by journalists and staff writers. The articles discuss news events and special features.

Trade Journal

Trade journals contain information for professionals within a specific  industry. Usually staff writers or industry professionals write the articles. They feature color photographs and industry specific advertisements. The articles discuss news and special features related to a specific industry.

Academic Journal

Researchers and scholars are the main audience for academic journals. They do not feature pictures or advertisements. Research articles make-up the content. They are written by researchers/scholars of a particular profession or discipline.