On this page you will find several openHealth Sciences textbooks along with supplemental material and a few lecture videos.
The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive. The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and it is in that spirit that we encourage any comments about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not already listed here.
Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and applied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level. The lucid text, strategically constructed art, inspiring career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. -OpenStax
This text was featured on Wikibooks because it contains substantial content and is well-formatted. It features sections on all traditional topics of human physiology and contains well-produced graphics. All but a few sections contain their own glossary of terms and review questions.
This manual covers the full range of communicable diseases in the African Region. HIV/AIDS has a chapter dedicated to it and the authors have included discussions of emerging infections. The goal of this text is to provide students in medical training colleges, nurses, clinical officers, and teachers with all necessary information needed to learn about communicable diseases in Africa.
This online text examines all aspects of contemporary health. It aims to equip students with the ability to appraise and assess public attitudes and behavior regarding health and disease. Addressing Public Health, immunizations, drug abuse, behavior patters, and cultural health behaviors, this text covers a wide range of healt topics.
This Nutrition text was developed for a 3-hour, intermediate-level, nutrition course at Kansas State University. The book is divided into 13 chapters that contain well-produced graphics. The enire book can easily be opened in Google Docs where it can easily be edited and then exported as in the filetype of your choice.
This text is in the public domain; however, attribution is appreciated.
Open Textbook Collections
Open Textbook LibraryThe Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors. A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters.
Open Health CollectionsThese Open Health Collections are representative samples of available open health educational resources. It includes many collections of openly licensed resources and tools for health sciences. Resources such as textbooks, courses, audio-videos, journals, images, datasets, software, and other mixed content. All of these resources are free for anyone to access worldwide. Many of them are also shared under open licenses that allow copies and modifications.
MERLOTMERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education. This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty. MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.