Research Guides: Health Science: Dental

Recommended Resources

EthnoMed: Integrating Cultural Information into Clinical Practice (Web Site)
Information about cultural beliefs, religions, & medical issues pertinent to the health care of immigrants and ethnic populations in the U.S. Browse by topic, medical issue, or by culture.
Includes links to journal articles, other web sites, and patient education materials in many languages.
Culture, Language and Health Literacy
Resources to recognize and address the unique culture, language and health literacy of diverse consumers and communities. Maintained by the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
[eBook] Caring for patients from different cultures

OSHA Standards for Dentistry
Workplace hazards that may apply to dentistry are addressed here in this website maintained by the Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) of the U.S. Department of Labor.
NIDCR-Improving the Nation's Oral Health
"Our mission is to improve dental, oral, and craniofacial health through research, research training, and the dissemination of health information. We are a division of the National Institutes of Health." Good source of patient information about oral health and diseases. Offers English and Spanish information such as flyers, pamphlets, and posters.
MedlinePlus: Dental Health
Accurate, educational, science-based information about dental and oral care from reliable sources.
Centers for Disease Control - Oral Health
CDC’s Division of Oral Health works to improve the oral health of the nation and reduce inequalities in oral health.
Oral Health in America: Advances & Challenges [Report]
Oral Health in America: Advances and Challenges is a culmination of two years of research and writing by over 400 contributors. As a follow up to the Surgeon General's Report on Oral Health in America, this report explores the nation's oral health over the last 20 years.

MERLOT: Dentistry
Searches 90,000+ records with the option to search other OER collections and the web

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window APA PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans 1985 to present.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source includes indexing for all dentistry and oral sciences journals commonly purchased by dental schools and other related institutions. Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source also includes an unprecedented collection of important full-text journals, as well as dozens of full-text monographs. The collection includes more than 130 journals, including many of the top ranked titles in the discipline.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides streaming access to more than 20,000 videos covering a wide range of subject areas.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information theyre looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window The Gale eBook platform enables users to find and retrieve multi-disciplinary digital content from Gale imprints, and those of over 150 publishing partners. Titles are authoritative, relevant and DRM free and ebooks are accessible! Audio files can be downloaded and saved onto any mobile device and read aloud in nearly 25 languages. Content can be translated as well. Ebook content is highly findable via detailed indexing, Discovery Services and MARC records. Formatted citations are easily exported; bookmarked links will never change and may be shared with non-users. Users can enable easy web reading with HTML or enjoy a more visual experience with cover-to-cover book view.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers aids users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. Vocations and Careers offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals ranging from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window Over 700 scholarly journals in Heath Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Science & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities. Full text available from 1999.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window SpringerLink provides ebooks and journals in business, economics and finance, education, environmental science, engineering, health & medicine, law, materials, mathematics & statistics, sciences, and more. New titles are added frequently. To get access to available content, uncheck the "Include Preview-Only content" box at the top left of SpringerLink. A lock icon means there is no access to content. Ebooks can be downloaded in PDF format and kept forever for free. Print copies of most titles can be ordered for $25.00. SpringerLink supports an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Full text available from 1997. To get access to available content, filter results by Publication Type, then select Journals.

Books and Certification Exams for Dentistry

Dental assisting instrument guide by Donna J Phinney; Judy H Halstead.
Call Number: RK681 .P55 2015 (Check Out Desk)
Publication Date: DEA1030 PRE CLINICAL TEXTBOOKS
Infection control and management of hazardous materials for the dental team by Chris H Miller, (Microbiologist); Charles John Palenik
Call Number: WU 29 M646i 2014 (Check Out Desk)
Publication Date: DEA1030 - PRE CLINICAL - TEXTBOOKS
LOCAL ANESTHESIA FOR DENTAL PROFESSIONALS, 2nd Edition by BASSETT, KATHEY; DIMARCO, ARTHUR.
Call Number: RK510.B367 2014 (Check Out Desk)
Publication Date: DES1050 ANESTHESIA TEXTBOOKS
MEDICAL EMERGENCIES ESSENTIALS FOR THE DENTAL PROFESSIONAL, 2nd Edition by GRIMES, ELLEN B.
Call Number: RC86.7 .G76 2014 (Check Out Desk)
Publication Date: DEA1131 DENTAL TEXTBOOKS
Dental Assisting by Vaishali Singhal; Susan Kantz; Melissa Damatta; Donna J. Phinney; Judy H. Halstead
Call Number: ON ORDER
ISBN: 9780357456521
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
The Administrative Dental Assistant by Linda J. Gaylor
Call Number: ON ORDER
ISBN: 9780323672429
Publication Date: 2020-03-06
Dental Materials by W. Stephen Eakle; Kimberly G. Bastin
Call Number: ON ORDER
ISBN: 9780323596589
Publication Date: 2020-05-26
Modern Dental Assisting by Doni L. Bird; Debbie S. Robinson
Call Number: ON ORDER
ISBN: 0323624855
Publication Date: 2020-03-30
Dental Anatomy [eBook] by Vincent Perez
ISBN: 9781423233107
Publication Date: 2016
Caring for Patients from Different Cultures by Geri-Ann Galanti Healthcare providers in the American medical system may find that patients from different cultures bring unfamiliar expectations, anxieties, and needs into the examination room. To provide optimal care for all patients, it is important to see differences from the patient's perspective and to work with patients from a range of demographics. Caring for Patients from Different Cultures has been a vital resource for nurses and physicians for more than twenty years, offering hundreds of case studies that illustrate crosscultural conflicts or misunderstandings as well as examples of culturally competent health care. Now in its fifth edition, Caring for Patients from Different Cultures covers a wide range of topics, including birth, end of life, communication, traditional medicine, mental health, pain, religion, and multicultural staff challenges. This edition includes more than sixty new cases with an expanded appendix, introduces a new chapter on improving adherence, and updates the concluding chapter with examples of changes various hospitals have made to accommodate cultural differences. Grounded in concepts from the fields of cultural diversity and medical anthropology, Caring for Patients from Different Cultures provides healthcare workers with a frame of reference for understanding cultural differences and sound alternatives for providing the best possible care to multicultural communities.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0812290275
Publication Date: 2014-11-07

Health Science

Dental Anatomy eBook

Watch Online

Recommended Resources

Books and Certification Exams for Dentistry

Career as a Dental Hygienist, Dentist, and Orthodontist