Whether youa re learning in a classroom, online, or even in a book, good study habits are essential. Our lives are busy. Ita s hard enough to find the time to learn new skills, which means ita s that much more important to maximize your efforts and ensure results.
Here's something worth learning: Studying doesn't have to be a chore! This fun and accessible resource provides the tools you need to develop better study habits, boost your grades, and position yourself for academic success. Educational consultant Cynthia Clumeck Muchnick uses a wide range of ideas taken from hundreds of students to help you find a unique, effective method suited for your individual learning style. You'll improve transcripts for college applications, ace standardized tests, and become a better student at any level of education. This indispensable guide shows you how to: Get the most out of class time Use the best strategies for note-taking and memorizing Improve writing skills Prepare completely for tests Safely and effectively conduct online research Use Skype, iChat, or social media to form study groups With this guide in your backpack, you'll be able to balance school and activities, avoid pre-test panic, and achieve consistently better results.
This new guide builds on the hugely successful materials the authors have developed over the last 15 years. Along with highly practical guidance on traditional learning skills, The Guide to Learning and Study Skills provides guidance for students on learning in a blended environment; the increased use of personal and professional development planning, continuing professional development and work-based learning.
A self-evaluative tool for students to augment their study skills and to maximize their learning efficiency. Originally developed 30 years ago for New York City's elite Regis High School, it remains a cornerstone of Regis' guideance and advisement programs since that time. The study guide addresses multiple aspects of student learning, including time management, reading comprehension, information retention, note taking, paper writing, and timed testing. Each unit includes questions for self-evaluation, goals, and suggestions for improvement. This revised edition offers additional material on increasing role of technology in learning, most notably focusing on Internet research.
The Study Skills Guide covers the essential skills that lead to success at university. With advice on how to work efficiently and achieve great results, this comprehensive guide offers practical and proven ways to cope with the challenges you will face. Designed to help you achieve important goals, it offers vital advice on how to the get the best out of your study, including advice on revision and exam techniques; tips on note-taking and writing good essays and dissertations and guidance on how to impress with presentations.With free online downloadable resource material, this essential guide provides a firm foundation to your time at university and a catalyst to success in everything from working with academic staff and getting the most from lectures, to writing good essays fast.
""The book itself covers everything university students need to know from exam revision and e-learning to work-life balance." The Bookseller "We would heartily recommend the book to students who are at the beginning of their studies." Maxine Fletcher, Lecturer, Oxford Brookes "This book's crammed full of very useful topics, information and exercises that I've never seen before, especially in the section on research, which I particularly liked." Joel, Student, Keele University " Competition for graduate jobs has never been so fierce. "The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook" will help you succeed from the first week of your studies through to graduation. Covering all the core skills you will need to help you make the most of your university course, "The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook" is your key to success. This is "the" handbook of techniques, tips and exercises. Written by a team of experts and tested on students, the advice in this book will help you to improve your grades, save time and develop the skills that will make you stand out to prospective employers. Whichever subject you are studying, this practical and concise book will help you find your individual learning style and tell you exactly what you need to know to excel as a student: Working out the best way for you to learn Doing your research Presentations Revising for exams Improving your critical thinking skills Managing your time