Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Integrating Content in CARES Act Courses

Incorporating Library Content

What?

 

 

  • A persistent link is a direct URL that will remain stable over time and allows users to get back to the linked document at a future time.
  • They are different than an address bar URL which may contain session-based or search based information that causes the URL to not work later.
  • AKA permalinks, permanent links, stable links/URLs, direct URLs, durable links or bookmark URLs.

 

Why?

 

 

Use persistent links to share articles, eBook titles, images, video or audio files from the library databases with your students.


When?

  • Recommended reading in your syllabus or assignment page
  • Weekly reading in your course units
  • Course PowerPoints or presentations
  • Share within your emails or any other electronic source

 

How?

Go to Databases by Subject, choose a subject specific database, and find an article. 

In order for a link to an article, eBook, video or audio clip to work, it must contain special coding that will allow Broward College users to access the article.

 

Permalink or Persistent Link Examples:

 

Within article, click on Permalink on right side, copy the URL displayed

 


Within article, click on Get Link on the top of the page, copy the URL displayed

 


Help!

Contact swilli12@broward.edu for assistance with locating persistent links for any of the library resources.

What?

 

 

  • eBooks are digital versions of print books
  • The BC Library has over 270,000 eBook titles to choose from

Why?

 

 

  • Use eBooks as required or supplementary reading
  • There is a wide range of reading levels available
  • Accessible to all currently registered BC students anywhere

When?

  • Recommended reading in your syllabus or assignment page
  • Weekly reading in your course units

How?

Go to the eBook catalog and search for a title.

Then consider how your book will be used

  • For required readings, unlimited users is best
  • For supplemental readings, 1-3 users could be appropriate

If you will not be updating your curriculum frequently, consider the following:

  • Owned titles will always be available
  • Leased titles may be dropped from the collection, and no longer be available in the future

Go to the All About eBooks page for more information about the various eBook collections we have access to.

Once you have chosen an eBook, get the persistent link or permalink to share with the students.

Example of a Permalink or Persistent Link:

Within the eBook, click on Share Link to Book on the left side, copy the URL

Information on how to retrieve the persistent links can also be found in the "Database Persistent Links" tab.


Help!

Contact swilli12@broward.edu for assistance with locating persistent links for any of the library resources.

What?

  • BC Library subscribes to several high-quality streaming video databases
  • There are almost 100,000 streaming videos from notable producers and filmmakers in the various collections
  • Most are academic in nature

Why?

  • Video directly relating to your course content and design will engage your students
  • Lets your students easily access academic videos by clicking the links or pressing the play button
  • Streaming videos from the library collection has useful tools such as scrolling transcripts, citations, etc.

When?

  • Embed video in units, discussion posts and announcements

How?

Search for videos in any of the Streaming Media databases.

Go to the link below to learn how to embed HTML code or share a title URL from any of the streaming video databases in D2L.

You can also easily embed Films on Demand video right into D2L. Open the link below to get directions.


Help!

Contact swilli12@broward.edu for assistance on integrating academic videos in your D2L course and/ or for course citation assistance.