Research Guides: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM): Sciences

Schedule a Research Consultation

Make an Appointment with a Librarian.

Complete and submit the form by clicking on the link above. You will receive an email confirmation with the Zoom link or meeting location details.

Browse Course Guides

BOT 2800 Prof. Chung
by Elena Lazovskaia-Hall (Broward College) Last Updated Apr 24, 2023 39 views this year

STA 1001 - Prof. Fulwood
by Simone Williams (Broward College) Last Updated Sep 23, 2021 78 views this year

Find and Use Library Resources and Websites

A-Z Journal Listing
Use A-Z Journal Listing to see if a specific magazine, newspaper, or journal is available in the BC Library. You can also browse by subject.

Why Would I Use a Library Database?

Library databases are great sources for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Journal articles and newspapers can be useful because you may find information on a topic that is so specific that no book has been written about the topic. Also articles may be more timely since it takes longer to publish a book.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
AccessScience contains articles, reference materials, biographies, images, and animations covering all major scientific disciplines.
Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as, business and social implications of new technology. Coverage dates back to 1909. This database provides comprehensive content for a wide variety of applied sciences, such as acoustics, aeronautics, neural networks, nuclear engineering and robotics, geology, chemistry, metallurgy and mineralogy, plastics, textile industry and fabrics, and space science.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Areas covered include physics and related disciplines, such as mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
bioRxiv beta : the preprint server for biology This link opens in a new window
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. It provides access to articles covering all aspects of life sciences research but does not include articles on clinical studies or clinical trials. Subject areas covered include biochemistry, biology, biophysics, cancer and cell biology, ecology and environmental sciences, genetics, genomics, immunology, microbiology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, paleontology, pathology, physiology, plant biology, and zoology.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This ebook collection from EBSCO features titles on all subject areas specifically selected for Florida's community colleges. Now supports downloads!
Science This link opens in a new window
The Science journal brings you breaking news from the world of scientific research. It also includes Sifter, a blog about the best science stories on the web, and a weekly podcast. Some of the topics covered are archaeology, biology, brain & behavior, chemistry, climate, earth, economics, education, environment, evolution, funding, health, math, paleontology, people & events, physics, plants & animals, policy, scientific community, social sciences, space, and technology. The journals are truly international in scope; most of the authors are based outside the United States, covering geographic areas such as, Africa, Asia/Pacific, Europe, and Latin America. Full text 'Science' journals available from 1997 to the present.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides ebooks and journals in business, economics and finance, education, environmental science, engineering, health & medicine, law, materials, mathematics & statistics, sciences, and more. New titles are added frequently. To get access to available content, uncheck the "Include Preview-Only content" box at the top left of SpringerLink. A lock icon means there is no access to content. Ebooks can be downloaded in PDF format and kept forever for free. Print copies of most titles can be ordered for $25.00. SpringerLink supports an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Full text available from 1997. To get access to available content, filter results by Publication Type, then select Journals.
Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Subject Specific Databases
Find the best databases for your research by subject.

Khan Academy Science
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps.
NASA
NASA stands for National Aeronautics and Space Administration. NASA is a United States government agency that is responsible for science and technology related to air and space. The Space Age started in 1957 with the launch of the Soviet satellite Sputnik. NASA was created in 1958.
National Science Teachers Association
NSTA dedicated to improving science instruction and increasing public awareness of science education
TED Ed-Science
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of science.

Find Textbooks in the BC Libraries

Textbook Catalog

Central:

Central campus library has a selection of textbooks
Textbooks are located in the Reserves section at the checkout desk
You need to show your BC ID card to use them
They cannot be checked out and removed from the library

Central checkout desk- 954-201-6649

North:

North campus library has a selection of textbooks
Textbooks are located in the Reserves section at the ASC checkout desk
You need to show your BC ID card to use them
They cannot be checked out and removed from the library

North ASC desk- 954-201-2262

South:

South campus library has a selection of textbooks
Textbooks are located at the Periodicals window on the 2nd floor
You need to show 2 forms of ID card to use them
They cannot be checked out and removed from the library

South reference desk- 954-201-8896

Get STEM Assistance

Academic Success Centers

Services provided at the ASC:

Academic Support Labs (STEM Centers, Math Labs, Writing Centers)
Collaborative Project Spaces
Graphing Calculator
Open Computer Centers (Printing)
Study Groups
Textbook Reserves
Tutoring by Certified Tutors (multiple subject areas)

And much more!