Research Guides: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM): Mathematics

Find and Use Library Resources and Websites

Mathematics Video Collection

A-Z Journal Listing
Use A-Z Journal Listing to see if a specific magazine, newspaper, or journal is available in the BC Library. You can also browse by subject.

Why Would I Use a Library Database?

Library databases are great sources for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Journal articles and newspapers can be useful because you may find information on a topic that is so specific that no book has been written about the topic. Also articles may be more timely since it takes longer to publish a book.

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Areas covered include physics and related disciplines, such as mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
Science This link opens in a new window
The Science journal brings you breaking news from the world of scientific research. It also includes Sifter, a blog about the best science stories on the web, and a weekly podcast. Some of the topics covered are archaeology, biology, brain & behavior, chemistry, climate, earth, economics, education, environment, evolution, funding, health, math, paleontology, people & events, physics, plants & animals, policy, scientific community, social sciences, space, and technology. The journals are truly international in scope; most of the authors are based outside the United States, covering geographic areas such as, Africa, Asia/Pacific, Europe, and Latin America. Full text 'Science' journals available from 1997 to the present.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides ebooks and journals in business, economics and finance, education, environmental science, engineering, health & medicine, law, materials, mathematics & statistics, sciences, and more. New titles are added frequently. To get access to available content, uncheck the "Include Preview-Only content" box at the top left of SpringerLink. A lock icon means there is no access to content. Ebooks can be downloaded in PDF format and kept forever for free. Print copies of most titles can be ordered for $25.00. SpringerLink supports an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistics, reports, forecasts and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources. Strong in business and current events.

Other Mathematics Databases
Find the best mathematics database for your research.

Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps.
Socratic
An online community of teachers and students creating and sharing to make learning easier. Subjects include Algebra, Calculus, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Statistics, and Trigonometry.
TED Ed- Math
A collection of TED Ed video lessons on the topic of math. TED-Ed is TED’s youth and education initiative. TED-Ed’s mission is to spark and celebrate the ideas of teachers and students around the world. Everything we do supports learning.
TED Talks- Math
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of math. TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).

Find Textbooks in the BC Libraries

Textbook Catalog

Central:

Central campus library has a selection of textbooks
Textbooks are located in the Reserves section at the checkout desk
You need to show your BC ID card to use them
They cannot be checked out and removed from the library

Central checkout desk- 954-201-6649

North:

North campus library has a selection of textbooks
Textbooks are located in the Reserves section at the ASC checkout desk
You need to show your BC ID card to use them
They cannot be checked out and removed from the library

North ASC desk- 954-201-2262

South:

South campus library has a selection of textbooks
Textbooks are located at the Periodicals window on the 2nd floor
You need to show 2 forms of ID card to use them
They cannot be checked out and removed from the library

South reference desk- 954-201-8896

Get STEM Assistance

Academic Success Centers

Services provided at the ASC:

Academic Support Labs (STEM Centers, Math Labs, Writing Centers)
Collaborative Project Spaces
Graphing Calculator
Open Computer Centers (Printing)
Study Groups
Textbook Reserves
Tutoring by Certified Tutors (multiple subject areas)

And much more!