New eResources 2023
Exploring Race in Society (EBSCO)
Exploring Race in Society is a database designed to support dialogue on the key issues surrounding systemic racism. This unique database provides background information on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. It also includes a collection of points of view essays offering solutions to issues related to race.
Topics include:
Affirmative Action
Black Lives Matter Movement
COVID-19 and Communities of Color
Digital Divide
Environmental Racism / Environmental Justice
Food Insecurity
Intersectionality
Jim Crow Laws and Segregation
Neighborhood Gentrification
Police Use of Force
School-to-Prison Pipeline
Sports Team Branding Changes
Voting Rights and Voter Suppression
Wealth Gap
--
Axis 360
Axis 360 is an eBook platform featuring best-seller titles, including fiction and non-fiction books. Audiobooks are also available on the platform. Titles are automatically returned at the end of the loan period (two weeks). Users must login through their Broward OneLogin account to access materials.
Please note, Axis360 will migrate to the Boundless platform September 2023.
--
New eResources
HeinOnline - 8/3/2022
We've added three databases from HeinOnline to our A-Z Databases list, please see below:
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Civil Rights and Social Justice, was created to help users understand the roots of the fight for civil rights, how far our nation has come, and how much we have yet to improve.
Hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights illuminate the storied (and still-unfinished) struggle for equality in the United States. A varied collection of books on related civil rights topics and a list of prominent civil rights organizations supplement these primary source documents and help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
LGBTQ+ Rights
This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations. A separate subcollection, Historical Attitudes and Analysis, presents books, pamphlets, reports, and more that some researchers may find offensive: viewpoints expressed in these items range from the cause of homosexuality and its alleged cures to the “problems” LGBTQ persons create in society. These items are not presented to endorse their viewpoints. They are included because to understand our present—how far we have come, the obstacles that were overcome, and those that still exist today—one must fully acknowledge the reality of our past, no matter how ugly, dangerous, or offensive it may be.
This collection is rounded out by a curated list of Scholarly Articles selected by Hein editors, as well as a Bibliography of titles to launch your research outside of HeinOnline. Finally, an interactive timeline, incorporating documents from HeinOnline with other media from around the internet, plots out an overview of LGBTQ rights in America from 1950 to the present day, helping to demonstrate the relevancy of the content within the database to the real-world events to which they are connected.
Open Society Justice Initiative
The Open Society Justice Initiative database brings the Justice Initiative’s scholarship to HeinOnline, providing access to works published by the Justice Initiative in HeinOnline’s fully searchable, image-based format. Unique to this collection is the ability to search by Publication Type, a publication identifier assigned by the Justice Initiative to each of its publications, which organizes their works into the following types: Briefing Paper; Publication; and Report.
This database, consisting entirely of never-before available titles to HeinOnline, will be updated yearly as new publications are released by the Justice Initiative.
--
Open Textbook Library - 7/26/2022
Open Textbook Library has been added to our A-Z Databases list.
Open Textbook Library has textbooks that are free to use and distribute, and include subjects from Business, Computer Science, Education, Engineering, Humanities, Journalism, Communications, Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Student Success and more to be used by higher education institutions, scholarly societies, and/or professional organizations.
--
FLVC - Statewide Collection - 5/11/2022
The following resources have been added to FLVC's Statewide Collection and are available to use:
History Vault: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century (1636-1880)
History Vault: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century (1636-1880) documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade. Collections in this module on the slave trade are sourced by ProQuest from the Rhode Island Historical Society, Southern Historical Collection at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and the U.S. National Archives. In addition to records on the slave trade, this module also includes a series of letters received by the Attorney General on law and order in nineteenth century America. These letters cover the slave trade, general slavery matters including runaway slaves and rights of slaves, and other legal issues.
Nursing and Ment/al Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection
Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other. These essential visual examples will prepare nurses to better assess, diagnose, and manage mental health issues in patients.
These resources have been added to our A-Z Databases page.
--
World Book eBook Platform - 4/27/2022
Support classroom instruction and library reading initiatives with over 2,500 titles, including World Book exclusive content and classic literature (novels, plays, poems, and nonfiction). With 24/7 unlimited, simultaneous access and unlimited renewals per book per user, World Book eBooks are available anytime, anywhere, and feature a free downloadable app compatible with Apple, Windows, and Android devices.
For more info, please see PDF: World Book eBook Brochure.pdf at the bottom of this box.
--
Broward College Archives and Special Collections - 3/11/2022
The following collections have been on our A-Z Database list:
These collections include rare books, student publications including literary magazines and newspapers, college catalogs, photographs covering Broward College's history, and much more.
US Southeast Newsstream - 2/11/2022
US Southeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Southeast Newsstream covers news sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Florida Online Journals - 2/11/2022
Florida Online Journals is a scholarly journals publishing program hosted by the Florida Virtual Campus (FLVC) and the Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative (FALSC). Using the Open Journals System (OJS) software, users are able to: support the electronic publication process (from submission through initial publication), host online copies of print or electronic journal publications, and provide access to locally held licensed commercial journals.
New eResources
Wall Street Journal - 10/13/2021
Broward College and The Wall Street Journal have partnered to provide school-sponsored WSJ memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to The Wall Street Journal’s trusted, factual news via WSJ.com and the app—including curated career content at students.wsj.com, and The Journal podcast. Activate your complimentary membership at WSJ.com/Broward to get unlimited access, WSJ apps, podcasts, curated newsletters and more.
First time users will need to create a password as part of their WSJ registration process and this is a one time setup, their first name, last name and email address will auto populate on the registration screen, then after that they will have seamless access. The password they create can be used to access the WSJ mobile app on their phones or via wsj.com outside of their school network.
NOTE: Students will have access through graduation. Faculty and staff will be required to refresh access once a year. An email will notify the user when they need to refresh.
How WSJ Access Works
--
Alexander Street Press - 9/20/2021
The following collections from Alexander Street Press have been added to our A-Z list:
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Particular care has been taken to index this material so it can be searched more thoroughly than ever. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The product includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor. The collection also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
The North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories collection includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants. The collection will be particularly useful to researchers, because much of the original material is difficult to find, poorly indexed, and unpublished; most bibliographies of the immigrant focus on secondary research; and few oral histories have been published.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
The North American Women's Letters and Diaries collection includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Also, Alexander Street Collections has been added to be able to search all of our collections from Alexander Street Press at once.
--
Occupational Outlook Handbook - 6/3/2021
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on careers and jobs, what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 324 occupational profiles, covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy.
--
DiscoverEd 360 Virtual Tour - 3/15/2021
Broward College Students, Faculty and Staff can now take advantage of immersive virtual tours around the world! From Italy to India, Switzerland to Costa Rica you will have the opportunity to virtually stroll around these locations and learn about their culture, language, architecture, and more! To access these amazing tours simply create a FREE account using your BC email using the sign-up link here.
New eResources
Archives Florida - Lyrasis (9/18/2020) New!
Archives Florida is a portal to ArchivesSpace instances from FALSC members (Florida state Universities and Colleges). Users can view thousands of collections that include scrapbooks, photographs, manuscripts, and other materials. Features Broward College ArchivesSpace collections.
--
New eResources - (09/04/2020) New!
The following resources have been added to our A-Z Databases list:
Broward College ArchivesSpace
Broward College ArchivesSpace contains finding guides from Archives and Special Collections organized by Record Group (RG) number and Manuscript (MS) number. Record groups range in date from 1957 to the present, following the timeline of the institution. Manuscript collections range in date from the late 19th century to the late twentieth century. The finding guides describe the content and arrangement of collections and allow users to identify material relevant to their area of interest. Collections include the Playbill Collection and Travel Brochures of the 20th century from 1940-1955.
Broward College DPLA Collections
The Broward College DPLA Collections shares over 1,200 records from the Broward College Digital Archives to the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) through a partnership with the Sunshine State Digital Network (SSDN). Their collections include materials related to the College history, including photos, yearbooks, scrapbooks and other papers supporting research and teaching with resources from Archives & Special Collections at the University College Library.
DPLA
The DPLA or Digital Public Library of America collaborates with libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country to make over 40 million images, texts, videos, and sounds available in a one-stop discovery experience. Their catalog includes materials that cover arts, history, migration, social movements, and other topics.
--
EBSCO Reference eBook Collections - EBSCO (02/18/2020) New!
EBSCO has made complimentary eBook collections available to six of our EBSCO databases:
These eBook collections contain nonfiction and reference books from top educational publishers, including Abdo Publishing Company, Cherry Lake Publishing, Crabtree Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Rourke Publishing and dozens of university presses. In addition, the Literary Reference Center Plus eBook Collection contains several classic fiction titles. Also, these titles have unlimited user access and are also discoverable in Mango.
More info on these collections can be found here and here.
--
Florida Open Academic Library - FLVC (01/14/2020) New!
The Florida Open Academic Library provides a statewide searchable database that includes an inventory of digital archives and collections held by public postsecondary education institutions (§ F.S. 1006.73 (2)(a)4.). Through collaboration with Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative (FALSC) member libraries, we are pleased to bring you over one million unique and valuable resources to discover. Developed to include multiple platforms across our members, harvested content includes all collections contained in the Inventory of Digital Libraries and Collections Held by Florida Public Universities and State Colleges 2019 Update, all collections within FALSC hosted platforms (i.e. FL-Islandora, Florida OJ, Orange Grove), and identified OER collections (i.e. Open Textbook Library, Open Stax) held by Florida institutions.
New eResources
MIT Press Direct - MIT Press (09/10/2019) New!
MIT Press Direct has more than 2,500 ebooks and approximately 200 added each year, or subject-specific collections. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences. Key features: DRM-free and unlimited simultaneous users.
--
Europa World - Taylor & Francis (07/02/2019) New!
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs.
First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
--
Gale Directory Library - Gale (07/02/2019) New!
Gale Directory Library offers you an online collection of premier directories, expanding your power to search for directory entries in a variety of ways, as well as giving you quick and easy digital ways to view, store and export the data you find. You can search a single directory or across an entire collection of directories.
Currently have Market Share Report, 29th edition and Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies, 61st edition available.
More information can be found here.
--
University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection - University of Michigan (04/22/2019) New!
The University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) is a comprehensive collection of the University of Michigan Press’s scholarly ebooks. The UMP EBC is fully accessible on Fulcrum, a leading community-developed, open source platform for digital scholarship developed with support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Fulcrum offers users the ability to read books with associated digital enhancements, such as: 3-D models, embedded audio, video, and databases; zoomable online images, and interactive media. Adhering to the Charlotte Initiative Principles, the UMP EBC provides: irrevocable perpetual access and archival rights; unlimited simultaneous users; and freedom from any Digital Rights Management (DRM).
More information can be found here.
--
Drama Online - Bloomsbury Publishing Inc. (03/28/2019) New!
Originally created by Bloomsbury Publishing Plc and Faber and Faber, the resource Drama Online Core Collection currently includes over 1,500 playtexts from Methuen Drama, The Arden Shakespeare, and Faber and Faber. The platform also includes 700 images from the Victoria and Albert Museum and American Shakespeare Centre. From the works of Aeschylus in 5th Century BC to the present day, Drama Online provides unique access to the finest drama literature. Titles include the most highly regarded scholarly editions of Shakespeare—The Arden Shakespeare Series—as well as works from Henrik Ibsen, Bertolt Brecht, Harold Pinter, Oscar Wilde, Caryl Churchill, Simon Stephens, David Mamet and Katori Hall. The collection is continually updated with the very latest writing from new and established writers.
More information can be found here.
--
Mergent Intellect - Hoover's Inc. (03/22/2019) New!
Mergent Intellect is a flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with Dun & Bradstreet's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
More information can be found here.
---
New e-Resources
ccAdvisor - Choice and The Charleston Company (10/15/2018) New!
Choice and The Charleston Company have collaborated to deliver a searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to academic databases, websites, and tools. This continuously updated, interactive service provides comprehensive, comparative, and authoritative information on a wide range of digital resources. ccAdvisor makes you more effective by helping you select the best and most appropriate resources for your research. Essentially, ccAdvisor is a database comparison tool.
Creating an account (please note - must be on Central Campus to create an account):
IP authentication is the first point of access. You can search and retrieve full text content without a UN & PW. If you are within IP authentication (on central campus), you can create a UN & PW, by clicking on Log In at the top tool bar and then click on Create Account. After you have created your UN & PW (on central campus), you can use it remotely.
Using ccAdvisor with an account:
A UN & PW allows you to create a List and then from the List make it a Cardstack. The Cardstack enables you to share titles with your colleagues, and it allows them to vote on each title and add a comment too. You also have the ability to create a Comparison Table, one of the most powerful tools in the database. When on the new site, you will notice on the left we have many facets you can click on (one at a time) to filter your search results. You can limit by Primary Categories, Secondary Categories, Review Types, and Access Types to name a few. With a UN & PW, you can also Save Searches and set up Alerts. The alerts can be sent every 30 days or every 7 if you want to see the new titles sooner.
--
OpenDissertations - EBSCO (07/05/2018)
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. It incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations with records for more than 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Also, it provides researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present.
What is OpenDissertations?
Note: This resource is also available on the Choose Databases screen of the EBSCOhost interface.
--
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law - HeinOnline (06/19/2018)
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported stated and federal cases on slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. This collection has hundreds of pamphlets, periodicals, and books written about slavery. It also includes an extensive bibliography and external resources.
Note: The Slavery and Gun Regulation databases are free and will always be free. But, Scholarly Articles are not part of the actual free databases.
--
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America - HeinOnline (06/19/2018)
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America brings a collection of more than 500 titles dealing with gun control. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and related works. It also includes an extensive bibliography and external resources.
Note: The Slavery and Gun Regulation databases are free and will always be free. But, Scholarly Articles are not part of the actual free databases.
--
Nursing and Allied Health Database - Video Training Programs (06/14/2018)
The Collection Development Committee agreed to create an access point in A-Z Databases for a video collection available through Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest).
The Video Training Programs collection was hidden under Browse / Browse Featured Content / Video Training Programs. Now, there is an entry for this collection in A-Z Databases with the next title: Nursing and Allied Health Database - Video Training Programs.
--
Safari New- 02/26/2018 (Note: Safari is now O'Reilly Online Learning - 05/09/2019.)
Direct link to access content: https://www.linccweb.org/eresources.aspx?resourcekey=safariebk&subid=7352
Description:
The platform includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences covering many subjects including business, math, science, and engineering. O'Reilly Online Learning supports an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Student User Guide. Here is a quick tour of some of the most useful features.
More information about Safari :
The new Safari - brochure.
Download the Safari Queue Mobile App here: https://www.safaribooksonline.com/apps/
--
Statista - Enhancements - 01/01/2018
New modules were added to our Statista subscription for 2018.
Consumer Market Outlook and the Digital Market Outlook are Statista’s primary research in the Consumer Markets and the Emerging Tech Markets and are often insights that other platforms don’t even have or categories that they do not cover.
• Digital Market Outlook - Emerging Tech categories (connected car, smart home, ecommerce, etc)
• Consumer Market Outlook - 150 segments in 16 consumer categories (Food, Clothes, Household Appliances, Automotive, etc)
--
Changed - 01/01/2018
Project MUSE has a new acquisition model: Evidence Based Acquisition (EBA) model for 2018.
--
New e-Resources
JSTOR - JSTOR e-books now available - 09/06/2017
The Collections Management and E-Resources Standing Committee (CMESC) announced the availability of a new collection of e-books available to all colleges and universities on the JSTOR platform. The purchase of these 106 titles was made possible by a one-time contribution of FLVC end-of-year funds. The CMESC worked with JSTOR to identify new titles that will be useful to both systems, and JSTOR will ensure that these titles do not trigger additional FALSC member purchases through DDA programs or firm order purchases. MARC records will be loaded for all schools as soon as possible.
(Source: Email: FLVC-Help Desk, 09/06/2017)
Additionally, more than 2,500 Open Access eBooks are now available on JSTOR.
--
Ebook Central (ProQuest) - 04/19/2017
Ebook Central replaces ebrary. Ebook Central covers all academic subject areas with eBooks from leading academic, STM, and professional publishers.
EBook Central Training Videos.
--
US Newsstream (ProQuest) - 02/06/2017
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
--
RefWorks (ProQuest) - 01/24/2017
RefWorks is a premier reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty, and librarians. With a refined user experience, full-text management, collaboration and other features you’d expect from a reference management solution, RefWorks enables students and faculty to have a more efficient and reliable process for producing the best research papers and grants.
Note: To get a RefWorks account, click on “Create account” and follow the instructions.
New RefWorks: Welcome to the New RefWorks!
ProQuest RefWorks Customer Resources
Note: RefWorks replaces EasyBib.
New e-Resources
Academic Video Online: Premium (ASP) - 11/01/2016
Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON) is a comprehensive video database spanning subject areas including Anthropology, Art & Design, Business, Criminal Justice, Diversity Studies, Education, Gender & Sexuality, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, and Social Sciences. AVON supplements the titles previously available in VAST: Academic Video Online and offers thousands of titles that are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Note: Academic Video Online: Premium replaces VAST: Academic Online Video.
Browse All Subject Areas. Browse All Producers.
Music Online: Listening (ASP) - 11/01/2016
Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world. It provides coverage across the next musical subject areas: Classical Music, Jazz, World Music, American Music, and Popular Music.
Browse All Subject Areas. Browse All Producers.
Art Source is now "Art & Architecture Source" EBSCO - (11/01/2016)
Formerly known as Art Source, Art & Architecture Source is an art research database that covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.
RCL Resources for College Libraries (ProQuest) - 09/30/2016 New!
RCL Resources for College Libraries is a premier list of core print and electronic resources for academic libraries. Brought to you by ACRL's Choice and Bowker, RCL covers the entire two-year and four-year college curriculum and provides a list of core titles that are essential for undergraduate study. Developed by an editorial team of more than 400 subject editors, bibliographers, and referees, the RCL database content is continuously updated with a new improved user-friendly interface.
List of RCL Features. Learn more about RCL: How to... Training and Support / Got a minute?
Hispánica Saber: Gran Enciclopedia Hispánica (World Book) - 08/10/2016
‘Hispánica Saber: Gran Enciclopedia Hispánica’ is a comprehensive Spanish-language reference tool for upper-level students. It includes over 100,000 articles, more than 9,000 images and maps, and nearly 1,000 videos, animations, sounds, and interactive media. A Spanish verb conjugation tool is also available.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book) - 08/09/2016
‘Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos’ is a beginner’s Spanish language reference tool. It offers interactive and bilingual features, allowing users to switch between Spanish and English content. It includes newspapers in Spanish and links to different topics, such as, world religions, arts, mathematics and science, sports, government, people and places with dozens of hands-on activities. It also contains a Spanish Visual Dictionary. To view a video tutorial on how to use this resource.
Swank Digital Campus (Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.) - 07/01/2016 New!
Swank Digital Campus is a streaming film database. It provides digital access to course-related films and allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time. The films cover a wide range of topics. If you are a faculty member and want to request a film.
Read more... Playback of movies on a computer occurs in a web browser. In general, Swank Digital Campus supports operating systems and browsers that are currently supported by Microsoft and Apple. Microsoft Silverlight is required to view streaming videos. A free download is available for both for PC and Mac computers.
arXiv.org (Cornell University) - 04/27/2016
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. It provides access to articles covering all aspects of life sciences research but does not include articles on clinical studies or clinical trials. Subject areas covered include biochemistry, biology, biophysics, cancer and cell biology, ecology and environmental sciences, genetics, genomics, immunology, microbiology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, paleontology, pathology, physiology, plant biology, and zoology.
Film Scripts Online, Volume 1 contains 1,009 scripts and makes available, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. It includes the content of ‘American Film Scripts Online’ (Volume 1) in the new interface. Now, film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen. Most scripts in the series have never been published before and are available nowhere else.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Project MUSE includes a collection of more than 700 eBooks on art, archaeology, anthropology, architecture, biology, communications and journalism, creative writing, criminal justice, diversity, economics, ecology, education, environmental sciences, folklore, geography, history, law, literature, medicine and health, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, social sciences, theater, and more.
Tip: On the Facets, under Access, select ‘Only content I have full access to.’
Additional information: Tutorials and User Guides
Read more… All you need is your Broward College email address. Click ‘Sign Up’ to create an account (only once). Then, click ‘Log in’ and select ‘Individual Login’; your username will be your email address. Browse available topics by clicking at the ‘Library’ section at the top of the screen.
Additional information: Explore available topics
Applied Science and Technology Source (EBSCO)
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) ... previously known as Art Source (EBSCO) Name change 11/01/2016.
Education Source (EBSCO)
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic (ABC-CLIO)
Pop Culture Universe: Icons Idols Ideas (ABC-CLIO)
Science (AAAS)
New e-Resources
Career and Technical Education Collection (Films Media Group). Included on the Films on Demand platform. This collection includes 4 smaller collections:
