Your Assignment - EDF 3280 - Prof. Collins - Research Guides at Broward College

Welcome to EDF 3280!

This page is designed to assist you in successfully completing your assignments for EDF 3280. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact a faculty librarian at 954-201-6653 or your instructor.

Books in the library

Using Assistive Technologies for Instructing Students with Disabilities by Barry W. Birnbaum
Call Number: LC4024 .B57 2005
ISBN: 0773461752
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
This book is a practical guide for teachers to increase their efficacy in the use of technology and teaching students with disabilities. A wealth of information regarding assistive technology and distance education provides tools for teachers to optimize their students learning.
Brief Reference of Student Disabilites by Lee Brattland Nielsen
Call Number: LC4031 .N53 2009
ISBN: 1412966329
Publication Date: 2008-08-27
This updated comprehensive 'ready reference' begins with an overview of legal issues that teachers need to know, and how these issues can affect the disciplining of students with disabilities.
Education and technology : an encyclopedia by Ann Kovalchick and Kara Dawson
Call Number: REF LB1028.3 .E17 2004
Located in the Open Reference Collection on the 1st floor of the library.
Defending and Parenting Children Who Learn Differently by Scott Teel; Vincent Monastra (Foreword by)
Call Number: LC3965 .T44 2007
ISBN: 0275992489
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Teel incorporates the fascinating story of Nancy Edison's love for her son Thomas, who had been labeled unteachable, then presents us with the wider array of and issues for children who learn differently.
Rethinking education in the age of technology : the digital revolution and schooling in America by Allan Collins and Richard Halverson
Call Number: LB1028.3 .C636 2009
If available, located on the 3rd floor of the library.
Global education : using technology to bring the world to your students by Laurence Peters
Call Number: LC1090 .P45 2009
Published by the International Society for Technology in Education. If available, located on the 2nd floor of the library.

Your Assignments

Students will research peer-reviewed journals on the the topic of using the latest technology addressing the needs of ESE students.

Suggested Education and Technology Databases

Education Research Complete
Education Full Text (Wilson)
Education Full Text indexes education related material from professional and academic journals.
ERIC via EBSCO

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Educators Reference Complete is a great resource for a variety of educatorsfrom teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education and every educational specialty, such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, and provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

Computer Database

Excellent Websites

Official Website for the International Society for Technology in Education
The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) is the premier membership association for educators and education leaders engaged in improving learning and teaching by advancing the effective use of technology in PK-12 and teacher education. ISTE represents more than 100,000 education leaders and emerging leaders throughout the world and informs its members regarding educational issues of national and global scope.
Office of Educational Technology
The Office of Educational Technology (OET) is located in and supports the Office of the Secretary (OS). OET provides leadership for powering education at all levels of learning with technology. OET develops national educational technology policy and ensures that Department programs take advantage of the productivity and learning opportunities technology can provide.