Suggested Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Science This link opens in a new window
The Science journal brings you breaking news from the world of scientific research. It also includes Sifter, a blog about the best science stories on the web, and a weekly podcast. Some of the topics covered are archaeology, biology, brain & behavior, chemistry, climate, earth, economics, education, environment, evolution, funding, health, math, paleontology, people & events, physics, plants & animals, policy, scientific community, social sciences, space, and technology. The journals are truly international in scope; most of the authors are based outside the United States, covering geographic areas such as, Africa, Asia/Pacific, Europe, and Latin America. Full text 'Science' journals available from 1997 to the present.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides ebooks and journals in business, economics and finance, education, environmental science, engineering, health & medicine, law, materials, mathematics & statistics, sciences, and more. New titles are added frequently. To get access to available content, uncheck the "Include Preview-Only content" box at the top left of SpringerLink. A lock icon means there is no access to content. Ebooks can be downloaded in PDF format and kept forever for free. Print copies of most titles can be ordered for $25.00. SpringerLink supports an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database includes all 2,800+ JSTOR academic journals that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage journals and reference content from Delmar and diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information theyre looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile Select covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines and includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections. The combination of full-text scholarly and select general interest titles is ideal for smaller academic libraries.
Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
AccessScience contains articles, reference materials, biographies, images, and animations covering all major scientific disciplines.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Full text available from 1997. To get access to available content, filter results by Publication Type, then select Journals.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library provides full text articles covering all of computing: software, hardware, networking, information science, instructional technology, human-computer interaction, and more. Subject matter includes education, IT, forensic science, business, environmental science, and computer science.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides streaming access to more than 20,000 videos covering a wide range of subject areas.
Journal Finder This link opens in a new window
Search any journal or serial in the Broward College collection by title or ISSN

Databases by Subject
Find the best library databases for your research.

Interlibrary Loan

Statistics (Environmental)

Environment Statistics - Country Snapshots

U.S. Energy Information Administration Statistics

Earth and the Environment

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics

Envirofacts: Retrieve information from multiple data sources that focus on air, land, water, waste, toxins, radiation, and related topics.

National Climatic Data Center: Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information.

National Centers for Environmental Information (NOAA): Environmental data and information from the National Climatic Data Center, the National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center.

Beach Erosion/Nourishment

Florida Department of Environmental Protection

Beaches Funding Program

EPA Oceans and Coasts

Florida Oceanographic Society

Global Coral Reef Alliance

Guidelines on Beach Monitoring for Coastal Erosion (Conscience-EU)

NOAA Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management

Stop the Beach Renourishment v. Florida Dept. of Envt’l Protection (08-1151)

USGS Coastal and Marine Geological Program

Environment

Environmental News Network

Florida Environments Online (FEOL)

Society for Ecological Restoration (SER) International

United Nations Environment Program

National Centers for Environmental Information (NOAA): Environmental data and information from the National Climatic Data Center, the National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center.

Marine Biology

MarineBio

NOAA Fisheries Service

NOAA Ocean Explorer

Coral Restoration Foundation | United States

Outreach & Education | NOAA Fisheries

Indian Riverside Park

Shellfish Restoration

Dry Tortugas

Atlantic and Gulf Rapid Reef Assessment (AGRRA) Program champions coral reef conservation and empowers those who protect these diverse ecosystems.

Florida Resources

University of Florida Collections on the Civil War in Florida

Guide to Civil War Records at the State Archives

Books on the Civil War in Florida

Old Florida Maps

State Archives Florida Memory Map Collection

UF Map & Imagery Library Online

Connect to Florida Digital Newspaper Library

America's Swamp: Collections on the Everglades

Everglades Digital Library (from FIU)

Everglades Digital Library: Reclaiming the Everglades

State of the Everglades Report

The Research Information Center is a technical research library that provides marine and wildlife research services at the FWC's Fish and Wildlife Research Institute (FWRI).

South Florida Water Management District (is a regional governmental agency that manages the water resources in the southern half of the state, covering 16 counties from Orlando to the Florida Keys)

Exploring Florida's Ghost Forests

Florida Environments Online: Digital full-text materials and research bibliographies about the ecology and environments of Florida.

Entomology

Search the Department of Entomology Collections

The U.S. National Entomological Collection (USNM)

Entomology Research Guide (The Smithsonian Libraries and Archives' Entomology Research Guide)

Other

Substance Registry Services

Provides information on chemical substances and biological organisms and how they are represented in the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulations and information systems.

Toxic Substances Portal (Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry)

This site offers access to toxicological profiles for more than 250 hazardous substances found at National Priorities List (NPL) sites.

TOXNET

US National Library of Medicine resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases information.

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)

The USGS provides reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life.