It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This book is an invaluable reference for those new to the field of criminology, who are looking for a clear outline of the major perspectives and traditions found in criminology. The author has outlined the ideas, concepts and traditions of the key theoretical perspectives that drive contemporary debate. Topics discussed include: Anomie theory Classical criminology Critical criminology Labelling theory Positivism Post-modernism Subcultural theory Key Perspectives in Criminology is not simply a dictionary of criminology, but a welcome introduction for those with a genuine interest in the terms, concepts, themes and debates in the field.
The SAGE Dictionary of Criminology provides a comprehensive introduction to criminological theory, its diverse frames of reference and its expansive modes of analysis. An up-to-date and accessible resource for students and teachers in the fields of criminology, criminal justice studies, the sociology of crime and deviance, socio-legal studies, social policy, criminal law and social work.
Since its inception, criminology has had trouble answering the question of what it is about. But although many consider the answer to this question to be self-evident, this book pursues the provocative possibility that criminology does not know what the object of its study is; it merely knows what it is called. Aiming to foster dissent among those who claim to know what criminology is about - and those who don't - writers from different schools of thought come together in this collection to answer the question "what is criminology about?" Building on a resurgence of interest in the nature of the object of criminology, their responses aim to deepen, and to expand, the current debate. This book will, then, be of considerable interest to contemporary proponents and students of criminology and law.
Justice Criminological Research offers a comprehensive guide to both the theory and practice of qualitative criminological research. Through a detailed yet concise explanation, the reader is shown how a variety of methods and approaches work and how their outcomes may be interpreted. Practically focused throughout, the book also offers constructive advice for students analysing and writing their research projects.
Crime policy ought to be guided by science rather than ideology, argue Hugh Barlow and Scott Decker in this incisive and original collection of essays. Establishing the value and importance of linking theory and practice, the contributors to Criminology and Public Policy provide a comprehensive treatment of the major theories in criminology and their implications for criminal justice, crime control, and the larger realm of justice. In applying theories to real world issues such as reducing crime and violence, prisoner reentry policies, gang behavior, and treatment courts.
Globalized crime and its effects have created a need for cooperation and sharing of knowledge and resources at every level. This book addresses major areas of concern, including terrorism and extremism, cyber crimes, laws and security, crimes of culture and culture of crimes, marginality, and social exclusion and victimization.
Essential tool for undergraduates embarking upon their own research projects in criminology. It looks at the ways in which a mixture of investigative methods can be used to analyze a criminological question.
In this text, Fletcher maintains that there is much greater unity among diverse systems of criminal justice than commonly realized, and that any adequate system of criminal law necessarily must address a set of universal, basic issues.
This easy-to-understand book contains everything you need to know about criminal law. Indispensable for anyone who wants to understand exactly what goes on in a criminal case. Roger Cossack, co-host of CNN's "Burden of Proof"
Foundations of Criminal Law presents a comprehensive examination of the general part of criminal law -- that is, the foundational elements of liability -- through interdisciplinary readings drawn primarily from law, philosophy, and the behavioral sciences. The selections range from classical treatments to contemporary approaches, and the topics include -- among others -- theories of punishment, mental states, causation, justification and excuse, and sentencing. A general introduction precedes each section and the readings are followed by comments and questions designed to engage the reader analytically.
Take the law into your own hands ... with Les Vandor’s help. For the past nine years, Ottawa lawyer Les Vandor has been dispensing legal advice to 400,000 listeners of CBC Radio’s Ontario Today program. His monthly, hour-long segment fields calls about wills, landlord-tenant issues, liability, property, and lawsuits. Les offers anecdotes and advice in a way that explains the law in a clear, accessible, and understandable way. Included in this book are the most frequently asked questions about Canadian criminal law from real people. Legal Counsel proves that ordinary people can ask ordinary questions and get simple, straightforward answers. And these same people will now be able to ask better, more informed questions if they ever do start working with a lawyer.
Providing unrivalled coverage of one of the most high-profile stages in the criminal justice process, this book examines the key issues in sentencing policy and practice. It provides an up-to-date account of the legislation on sentencing together with the ever-increasing amount of Court of Appeal case law. The law in relation to elements of the wider criminal justice system is examined, including the prison and probation services. The aim of the book is to examine English sentencing law in its context, drawing not only upon legislation and the decisions of the courts but also upon the findings of research and on theoretical justifications for punishment. This new edition has been extensively revised to integrate the new laws introduced by the Criminal Justice Act 2003, which has brought sweeping reforms into English sentencing.
This title examines 20 occupations in law and criminology. Written for high school and undergraduate students, this series will help students explore their futures, and set goals in these exciting fields.