It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Together, Big Data, high-performance computing, and complex environments create unprecedented opportunities for organizations to generate game-changing insights that are based on hard data. Business Analytics: An Introductionexplains how to use business analytics to sort through an ever-increasing amount of data and improve the decision-making capabilities of an organization. Covering the key areas of business analytics, the book explores the concepts, techniques, applications, and emerging trends that professionals across a wide range of industries need to be aware of. Better detection of fraud through visual analytics or better prediction of the likelihood of someone getting an infection while in the hospital are just a few examples of where analytics can play a positive role. As the field of business analytics continues to emerge rapidly, there is a need for a reliable textbook and reference on the subject. Filling this need, this book is suitable for graduate-level students and undergraduate seniors. It maintains a focus on only the key areas so the material can be covered adequately in a one-semester or one-quarter course. Each chapter includes software-generic exercises, labs, and associated answers to the exercises/labs. Author Jay Liebowitz recently had an article published in The World Financial Review. www.worldfinancialreview.com/?p=1904
This comprehensive text walks readers through the basic building blocks necessary to establish a solid understanding of the nature of business, economics, fundamentals of financial statements, corporate finance, and capital markets.
Knowledge of business research is necessary for any business student, as all postgraduate business programmes and business-related disciplines require it. Business Research is a groundbreaking book for student researchers who need to conceive, conduct and complete a new research project for the first time. It concentrates on the business organization and gives invaluable practical advice on going out into the field and conducting interviews, researching problems and learning about organizations. Through its conversational, accessible style and its adoption of a student's perspective, this book will make the process of learning about research enjoyable and the resulting research project outstanding. Business Research is essential reading for students who are studying for one or more modules in research methods for a postgraduate qualification in business and management; students who have a methodological component to one of their modules (eg a module in organizational behaviour); and students who have to conduct an investigation in a business and management field, for a dissertation or project report, and need guidance and assistance on how to approach, conduct and report every aspect of their project.
The most up-to-date text in the market, International Business arms business professionals with a complete exploration of global business issues and practice. It addresses all the recent and on going worldwide issues regarding the economic and financial crisis as well as the government's role in business and the international business environment. Three new chapters focus on trade and investment policies, politics, and law. New examples from around the world are also presented throughout the text. The eighth edition examines the role and impact of culture and also includes numerous current world maps, helping business professionals develop and refine a global perspective.
Now students, instructors, and professionals everywhere can find clear, authoritative, explanations of more than 6,000 key business terms. Prepared by a noted encyclopedist, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business. The book explains accounting rules, legal terminology, slang and buzzwords, acronyms, management theories, historical figures, economic concepts, performance metrics, and more—all the crucial ideas that have transformed business practices and management science in the past 25 years. In addition to concise definitions, this indispensable reference includes longer entries for ideas needing more elaborate explanations, as well as a pronunciation guide for difficult words, special sections on usage, and a thesaurus of related words. While quick definitions abound online, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management supplies the depth and clarity lacking in most “webinitions.” And it includes thousands of technical terms omitted from even premier unabridged dictionaries. From Abilene paradox to zero-based budgeting, this is an essential resource for anyone serious about business.
The strength of any organization is determined by the quality of its managers. What they do and how they do it is the key determinant of corporate success. Want to become invaluable to your company? Boost your managerial skills. The good news is that great managers are made...not born. When you discover what the most successful managers know, you will unlock the secrets to turning even ordinary employees into extraordinary performers. Now with this handy little book, success expert Brian Tracy reveals how anyone can easily: Set performance standards ● Delegate productively ● Define key result areas ● Concentrate attention and resources on high-payoff activities and eliminate distractions ● Hire and fire effectively ● Build a staff of peak performers ● Hold meetings that work ● Foster team spirit ● Communicate with clarity ● Negotiate successfully ● Remove obstacles to performance ● Set the right example ● Make good decisions quickly ● And more Filled with practical, proven techniques and tools, this essential guide shows you how to bring out the best in your people--and hit new heights in your own career.
We've got you covered for Principles of Management with John Schermerhorn's Management 12th Edition. From new cases and self-assessments to the Fast Company Video Series and Management Weekly Updates, the text and its comprehensive suite of resources promote critical thinking and active learning. Thoroughly updated while maintaining its trusted, balance of concepts and applications, Management 12th Edition allows you to present the most current material, help students apply theory and show relevance of management concepts in the real world'so your student will succeed in your course and beyond.
A fully comprehensive resource for those wanting to know about the world of business management. Students and working professionals alike can enjoy quick and accessible definitions and the extensive cross-referencing system allows readers broader access to subject areas. This dictionary covers all the topics, issues and terms in the field, including: business economics, consumer behaviour, corporate strategy, financial management, human resource management, information technology, management accounting, marketing and organizational behaviour and work psychology.