Integrating Library Resources in D2L Courses

• eBooks are digital versions of print books
• The BC Library has over 270,000 eBook titles to choose from

• Use eBooks as required or supplementary reading
• There is a wide range of reading levels available
• Accessible to all currently registered BC students anywhere

• Recommended reading in your syllabus or assignment page
• Weekly reading in your course units

Go to the eBook catalog and search for a title.

Then consider how your book will be used

• For required readings, unlimited users is best
• For supplemental readings, 1-3 users could be appropriate

If you will not be updating your curriculum frequently, consider the following:

• Owned titles will always be available
• Leased titles may be dropped from the collection, and no longer be available in the future

Go to the Using eBooks in Course Design page for more information. 

Please fill out the Verifying eBooks for Adoption form to have a librarian check the viability of using the specific library eBooks for course adoption.

Once you have chosen an eBook, get the persistent link or permalink to share with the students. Information on how to retrieve the persistent links can be found in the "Database Persistent Links" tab.

Contact swilli12@broward.edu for assistance with locating persistent links for any of the library resources.

• A widget is an application that can be embedded into a webpage by inserting widget code.
• There are a wide range of database search box widgets where students can search for academic/scholarly & peer-reviewed articles or eBooks directly from your module or online course.

Search Widget Example:

• Encourages students to use quality sources
• Allows students to efficiently & conveniently access library resources
• Increases student usage of academic/ scholarly resources

• Embed database search widgets in your assignment pages that require research/ consultation with outside sources
• Embed in units covering research topics

1. Locate the specific database widget code you would like to embed by clicking the link below

2. Copy the code from the box titled "Code"

3. Paste the code into any HTML or text editor

• Click on the PDF below for instructions on how to embed widget codes into D2L

4. Log in will be required to get into the library resource. Click on the link below for log in directions. 

Contact swilli12@broward.edu to find a particular database search widget or for assistance with embedding the code. 

• BC Library subscribes to several high-quality streaming video databases
• There are almost 100,000 streaming videos from notable producers and filmmakers in the various collections
• Most are academic in nature

• Video directly relating to your course content and design will engage your students
• Lets your students easily access academic videos by clicking the links or pressing the play button
• Streaming videos from the library collection has useful tools such as scrolling transcripts, citations, etc.

• Embed video in units, discussion posts and announcements

Search for videos in any of the Streaming Media databases.

Go to the link below to learn how to embed HTML code or share a title URL from any of the streaming video databases in D2L.

You can also easily embed Films on Demand video right into D2L. Open the link below to get directions.

Contact swilli12@broward.edu for assistance on integrating academic videos in your D2L course and/ or for course citation assistance.