Research Guides: A Research Resources: Research Resources

Find eBooks

This searches only for ebooks. To locate other library materials use the BC Libraries homepage.

Search the Library Catalog for eBooks

Note: You may have to log in with your OneLogin (BC email) to access library resources.

Search the U/CL Catalog

Search for Books & eBooks. To locate other library materials use the BC Libraries homepage.

Search the Library Catalog

Find Articles

This searches for articles across multiple Broward College databases. To locate other library materials use the BC Libraries homepage.

Search Articles

Note: You may have to log in with your OneLogin (BC email) to access library resources.

Search FAU Catalog

You can locate books, ebooks, journals, microfilm, videos, music, DVDs, and other library materials using the FAU library catalog. This search box searches for all types of materials.

Login Information

You must log in with your BC Email to access magazine or journal articles, streaming videos, library eBooks, and library databases.

Need help?: Chat with a librarian or email us at library@broward.edu.

Google it

Search Florida Electronic Library

Issues and Controversies

Search USA.gov

USA.gov is the U.S. government official web portal. Makes it easy to search government sponsored websites ending in .gov. Great for statistical or demographic information.

University/College Library Hours

Monday - Thursday	7:30 a.m. - 10 p.m.
Friday	7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday	9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Sunday	2 p.m. - 10 p.m.

Library services close before the building. Don't wait until the last minute to return study room keys and check out books. Listen for announcements.

Search for Articles

Suggested Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information theyre looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society provides historical background and contemporary status of the most significant social issues and includes supporting facts, figures, and timelines.

Subject Specific Databases

Search Films On Demand

Search for high-quality streaming videos on many academic subjects. You will have to log in to view videos. Your Borrower ID is your BC ID#. Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.)

Search Films on Demand

Search for high-quality streaming videos on many academic subjects. Login required!

Chat with a Broward College Librarian

Use our SMS chat service to send us quick simple questions.

Responses will come as two messages if they exceed 150 characters.

Your provider's standard text messaging rates may apply.

Popular Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides streaming access to more than 20,000 videos covering a wide range of subject areas.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
The Gale eBook platform enables users to find and retrieve multi-disciplinary digital content from Gale imprints, and those of over 150 publishing partners. Titles are authoritative, relevant and DRM free and ebooks are accessible! Audio files can be downloaded and saved onto any mobile device and read aloud in nearly 25 languages. Content can be translated as well. Ebook content is highly findable via detailed indexing, Discovery Services and MARC records. Formatted citations are easily exported; bookmarked links will never change and may be shared with non-users. Users can enable easy web reading with HTML or enjoy a more visual experience with cover-to-cover book view.

Ebook Central

Project Muse

Contact Us

Reference Department

Email Me

Contact:

3501 SW Davie Road, Bldg.17
Davie, FL 33314
954.201.6653 or 6223

Need Help? (Central)

	Student Research Appointment
	954.201.6653 954.201.6223
	library@broward.edu
	Chat with Us!

Updated on: 08/14/2018

Student Research Appointment

Student Research Appointment
Make an appointment with a librarian to learn how to start a report... find peer-reviewed articles... use ebooks... define a research topic... cite sources... and to get answers to other research questions.

Allow 30-45 minutes and try to schedule at least 3 days in advance.

Search for Informative & Argumentative Resources

Search Encyclopedias

Learn how to learn at Broward College!

Skilful Time Management! by Peter Levin
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780335222940
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
This title helps students to cope with the complex demands upon their time. It highlights time-management problems, shows how to assess and overcome them, examines how good work patterns may be established and how one-off events can be fitted into a work routine.
Conquer Study Stress! by Levin Shows how to beat twenty of the most common causes of student stress. This book describes the symptoms, gives a diagnosis and offers remedies. It covers such features of student life as: the culture shock facing new students; reading and note-taking and monster reading lists; and, writing under pressure.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780335235193
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
The Study Skills Guide by Patrick Forsyth; Mark Connelly; Jacqueline Connelly The Study Skills Guide covers the essential skills that lead to success at college. With advice on how to work efficiently and achieve great results, this comprehensive guide offers practical and proven ways to cope with the challenges you will face.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780749461263
Publication Date: 2010-10-20
Study Skills for Nurses by Claire Boyd
Call Number: RT71.B69 2014
ISBN: 9781118657430
Publication Date: 2014
Survive academic study with this snappy guide to research techniques and strategies for all student nurses.
Managing the Mean Math Blues by Cheryl Ooten; Emily Meek; Kathy Moore
Call Number: QA11.2 .O67 2010
ISBN: 9780132295154
Publication Date: 2009-06-29
Managing the Mean Math Blues helps students overcome their negative perceptions about math using positive psychology, brain-based learning, and study skills techniques.

Need Writing Assistance?

Visit one of our Academic Success Centers!

Below are links to the Writing Labs located on our Central, North and South campuses. Students can receive assistance with their writing needs in a friendly atmosphere.