Global Health Assignment

Global Health Project Presentation- 60 points

You will have different areas of global health to choose from. Decide on a topic within these areas that is a current global issue that we are facing. Explain the background/history, global incidence & prevalence, symptoms prevention/treatment, strategy for control.

Global Areas to look for a topic:

Neglected Parasitic infections (Soil-transmitted helminth infections in children, Chagas Disease, Cysticercosis, Toxocariasis, toxoplasmosis)
Occupational & Health Hazards (chemical safety, environmental cancers, water & sanitation, outdoor air pollution, stress & workplace)
Infectious Diseases (Ebola, Cholera, COVID-19, Wild Polio Virus, Enterovirus, drug-resistant Tuberculosis, MERS, SARS, Zika)
Non-communicable diseases (Diabetes, cardiovascular disease, cancer, chronic respiratory disease)

HSC 2100 Global Health project

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central covers all academic subject areas with eBooks from leading academic, STM, and professional publishers. Ebook Central replaces ebrary.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
The Gale eBook platform enables users to find and retrieve multi-disciplinary digital content from Gale imprints, and those of over 150 publishing partners. Titles are authoritative, relevant and DRM free and ebooks are accessible! Audio files can be downloaded and saved onto any mobile device and read aloud in nearly 25 languages. Content can be translated as well. Ebook content is highly findable via detailed indexing, Discovery Services and MARC records. Formatted citations are easily exported; bookmarked links will never change and may be shared with non-users. Users can enable easy web reading with HTML or enjoy a more visual experience with cover-to-cover book view.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. It has full-text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965.
Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health Database will let you access articles, video training programs, study paths, and recommended readings from more than 1,400 nursing-related publications, including Nursing, Nursing Management, RN, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management.