History Research Guide: Databases & Online Resources

American History Online contains the complete content of the American Women's History Online and U.S. Government Online databases. It offers a virtual library of American history providing biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, maps, and graphs.

History Reference Center offers full-text from more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full-text for 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

The Gale eBook platform enables users to find and retrieve multi-disciplinary digital content from Gale imprints, and those of over 150 publishing partners. Titles are authoritative, relevant and DRM free and ebooks are accessible! Audio files can be downloaded and saved onto any mobile device and read aloud in nearly 25 languages. Content can be translated as well. Ebook content is highly findable via detailed indexing, Discovery Services and MARC records. Formatted citations are easily exported; bookmarked links will never change and may be shared with non-users. Users can enable easy web reading with HTML or enjoy a more visual experience with cover-to-cover book view.

The African American Experience is an authoritative research tool for African American history and culture. Contains essays, biographies, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, photographs, maps and more.

The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.

Gale OneFile: U.S. History contains scholarly journals and magazines that can be used by novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, U.S. History offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Women and Social Movements in the United States contains primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, that document women’s activism in public life. It includes publications from state commissions on women, and the five-volume biographical dictionary, Notable American Women (1971-2004).

Films on Demand provides streaming access to more than 20,000 videos covering a wide range of subject areas.

Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Music Online: African American Music Reference chronicles the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. It includes biographies, scores, liner notes, lyrics, and reference on important musicians and ensembles.