Resources - POS 2041 - Prof. Choate - Research Guides at Broward College

Finding Books

Evicted by Matthew Desmond
ISBN: 0553447432
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Democracy Reinvented by Hollie Russon Gilman
ISBN: 9780815726845
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
How Big Should Our Government Be? by Jeff Madrick; Jon Bakija; Lane Kenworthy; Peter Lindert
ISBN: 9780520962811
Publication Date: 2016-06-21

Call numbers are used to locate print books in the library. What is a call number? It is a series of letters and numbers in alphabetical and numerical order that designate where a book is placed on the shelf.

For a detailed explanation on call numbers, click here: Understanding Call Numbers

Quick Library Tour

First Floor - Reference Books

Second Floor - Circulating Books A-H

Third Floor - Circulating Books J-R

Fourth Floor - Circulating Books S-Z, Oversized Collection, and (CLC) Children's Collection

Books are available in the U/C Library. This search box searches for books and ebooks.

The Green and the Black by Gary Sernovitz
ISBN: 9781250080660
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
Foreign Oil Dependence by Greenhaven Press Staff
ISBN: 9780737773682
Publication Date: 2015-12-28

Drones by Greenhaven Press Editors
ISBN: 9780737774221
Publication Date: 2016-01-27
Cybercrime by Greenhaven Press Staff
ISBN: 0737774207
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Domestic Surveillance by Noël Merino; Greenhaven Press Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780737774344
Publication Date: 2015-12-03

Obamacare Wars by Daniel Beland; Philip Rocco; Alex Waddan
ISBN: 9780700621965
Publication Date: 2016-01-31

Articles and Streaming Media

Source	Description
Magazine	Magazines are written for the general public. They feature lots of pictures and advertisements. The authors of the articles are often staff writers. The content includes information on current events, entertainment and special features.
Newspaper	Information in newspapers is targeted toward the general public. Newspapers usually feature black and white print and photographs. The articles are written by journalists and staff writers. The articles discuss news events and special features.
Trade Journal	Trade journals contain information for professionals within a specific industry. Usually staff writers or industry professionals write the articles. They feature color photographs and industry specific advertisements. The articles discuss news and special features related to a specific industry.
Academic Journal	Researchers and scholars are the main audience for academic journals. They do not feature pictures or advertisements. Research articles make-up the content. They are written by researchers/scholars of a particular profession or discipline.

A database is a searchable collection of information. In library research, a database is where you can find sources such as journals, newspapers, and magazine articles. Some databases offer sources on various subject areas while others are specific to a discipline or subject area.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window

Department of Homeland Security The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face. This requires the dedication of more than 240,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cyberecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector. Our duties are wide-ranging, and our goal is clear - keeping America safe.
US Customs and Border Patrol With more than 60,000 employees, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, CBP, is one of the world's largest law enforcement organizations and is charged with keeping terrorists and their weapons out of the U.S. while facilitating lawful international travel and trade.
Environmental Protection Agency The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.
International Atomic Energy Agency Widely known as the world’s “Atoms for Peace” organization within the United Nations family, the IAEA is the international centre for cooperation in the nuclear field. The Agency works with its Member States and multiple partners worldwide to promote the safe, secure and peaceful use of nuclear technologies.
US Department of Energy The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
US Department of Health and Human Services It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. We fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.
Healthcare.gov: Health Insurance Information
Office of Economic Policy, US Dept. of the Treasury The Office of Economic Policy is responsible for analyzing and reporting on current and prospective economic developments in the U.S. and world economies and assisting in the determination of appropriate economic policies. The Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy reports directly to the Secretary of the Treasury and is responsible to him for the review and analysis of both domestic and international economic issues and developments in the financial markets.
US Department of the Treasury The mission is to maintain a strong economy and create economic and job opportunities by promoting the conditions that enable economic growth and stability at home and abroad, strengthen national security by combating threats and protecting the integrity of the financial system, and manage the U.S. Government’s finances and resources effectively.
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

POS 2041 - Prof. Choate: Resources

Finding Books

Articles and Streaming Media