Assignment - ENC 2210 - Prof. Daniels - Research Guides at Broward College

Introduction

There are lots of resources for information on careers, choosing a college and/or major and relocating. Your assignment asks you to pick one of these topics (or any combination of the three) for a feasibility study. There are links here to reference sources, books, databases and websites where you can get more information.

Career Assessment

Holland Codes (Rogue Community College)

The Holland Codes is a system to classify jobs into job categories, interest clusters, or work personality environments. In the Holland Model, these categories represent work personalities. Based on John Holland's theory of vocational choice and personality types. Respond to items (simple check-boxes); view results for Holland Code. View jobs by Holland Code. Links take you to the Occupational Outlook Handbook for details about each occupation.

My Next Move

My Next Move is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment & Training Administration, and developed by the National Center for O*NET Development.

O*Net OnLine

O*Net OnLine offers information for career exploration and job analysis! It contains information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors.

Choosing A College

College Source

Explore colleges/universities worldwide. Search for a specific school, or browse list of schools within a country. Links to college web site and often entire catalog.

US News & World Report College Rankings

Yearly ranking of best colleges

College Scorecard

US Department of Education site that provides updated, comprehensive information on colleges. Allows students to compare colleges based on cost and future earnings.

Smart College Choices

This portal is intended to provide information on student graduation, employment, earnings, and continued education rates for each of the 28 Florida College System institutions and Public School District Career Centers. The data is accessible by institution, by program type and program title. The source of this data is the Florida Education and Training Placement Information Program (FETPIP) which provides follow-up statistics on students.

Finding Articles

Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals in the UCL databases. You can even find video clips! Possible keywords and phrases: choosing the right college, paying for school, paying for college, college choice, a specific career field, etc.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information theyre looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides streaming access to more than 20,000 videos covering a wide range of subject areas.

ENC 2210 - Prof. Daniels: Assignment

Introduction

Career Assessment

Choosing A College

Finding Articles