Resources - INR 2002 - Prof. Choate - Research Guides at Broward College

Finding Books

Towards a Better Global Economy: policy implications for citizens worldwide in the twenty-first century by Franklin Allen; Jere R. Behrman; Nancy Birdsall; Shahrokh Fardoust; Dani Rodrik; Andrew Steer; Arvind Subramanian
Call Number: HF1359 .A5455 2014
ISBN: 0198723458
Publication Date: 2014
Bioinsecurities by Neel Ahuja
ISBN: 9780822360483
Publication Date: 2016-04-22
Climate Change by Daniel Bedford; John Cook
ISBN: 9781440835681
Publication Date: 2016-07-18
Border Politics by Cengiz Günay (Editor); Nina Witjes (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319468549
Publication Date: 2016-12-16
ISIS by Brian L. Steed
ISBN: 9781440849879
Publication Date: 2016-06-01

Call numbers are used to locate print books in the library. What is a call number? It is a series of letters and numbers in alphabetical and numerical order that designate where a book is placed on the shelf.

For a detailed explanation on call numbers, click here: Understanding Call Numbers

Quick Library Tour

First Floor - Reference Books

Second Floor - Circulating Books A-H

Third Floor - Circulating Books J-R

Fourth Floor - Circulating Books S-Z, Oversized Collection, and (CLC) Children's Collection

WorldCat is the world's largest database of library books. It allows you to search local library collections such as Nova Southeastern University, Florida Atlantic University, and the Broward County Public Library, as well as the United States and worldwide.

Once you locate books available from WorldCat, Current BC/FAU students may request books not owned by U/CL through the Interlibrary Loan

Articles and Streaming Media

A database is a searchable collection of information. In library research, a database is where you can find sources such as journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Some databases offer sources on various subject areas while others are specific to a discipline or subject area.

Source	Description
Magazine	Magazines are written for the general public. They feature lots of pictures and advertisements. The authors of the articles are often staff writers. The content includes information on current events, entertainment and special features.
Newspaper	Information in newspapers is targeted toward the general public. Newspapers usually feature black and white print and photographs. The articles are written by journalists and staff writers. The articles discuss news events and special features.
Trade Journal	Trade journals contain information for professionals within a specific industry. Usually staff writers or industry professionals write the articles. They feature color photographs and industry specific advertisements. The articles discuss news and special features related to a specific industry.
Academic Journal	Researchers and scholars are the main audience for academic journals. They do not feature pictures or advertisements. Research articles make-up the content. They are written by researchers/scholars of a particular profession or discipline.

United States Senate, International Relations The Senate plays a unique role in U.S. international relations. The Constitution authorizes the president to make treaties, but the president must then submit them to the Senate for its approval by a two-thirds vote. The Senate Foreign Relations Committee is integral to this process. The committee also evaluates nominees to the State Department.
United Nations The United Nations came into being in 1945, following the devastation of the Second World War, with one central mission: the maintenance of international peace and security. The UN does this by working to prevent conflict; helping parties in conflict make peace; peacekeeping; and creating the conditions to allow peace to hold and flourish. These activities often overlap and should reinforce one another, to be effective. The UN Security Council has the primary responsibility for international peace and security. The General Assembly and the Secretary-General play major, important, and complementary roles, along with other UN offices and bodies.
United States International Trade Commission The United States International Trade Commission is an independent, quasijudicial Federal agency with broad investigative responsibilities on matters of trade. The agency investigates the effects of dumped and subsidized imports on domestic industries and conducts global safeguard investigations. The Commission also adjudicates cases involving imports that allegedly infringe intellectual property rights.
International Trade Administration The International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements. ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad. ITA supports President Obama’s recovery agenda and the National Export Initiative to sustain economic growth and support American jobs.
Office of Global Affairs The United States Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of Global Affairs is the diplomatic voice of the Department of Health and Human Services—we foster critical global relationships, coordinate international engagement across HHS and the U.S. government, and provide leadership and expertise in global health diplomacy and policy to contribute to a safer, healthier world.
World Trade Organization The WTO agreements cover goods, services and intellectual property. They spell out the principles of liberalization, and the permitted exceptions. They include individual countries’ commitments to lower customs tariffs and other trade barriers, and to open and keep open services markets. They set procedures for settling disputes.
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
International Monetary Fund The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. Created in 1945, the IMF is governed by and accountable to the 189 countries that make up its near-global membership.
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world
European Union The European Union is a unique economic and political union between 28 European countries that together cover much of the continent. The EU was created in the aftermath of the Second World War. The first steps were to foster economic cooperation: the idea being that countries that trade with one another become economically interdependent and so more likely to avoid conflict. The result was the European Economic Community (EEC), created in 1958, and initially increasing economic cooperation between six countries: Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Since then, a huge single market has been created and continues to develop towards its full potential.
The World Bank Group The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the ordinary sense but a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development. The World Bank Group comprises five institutions managed by their member countries. Established in 1944, the World Bank Group is headquartered in Washington, D.C. We have more than 10,000 employees in more than 120 offices worldwide.
International Atomic Energy Agency Widely known as the world’s “Atoms for Peace” organization within the United Nations family, the IAEA is the international centre for cooperation in the nuclear field. The Agency works with its Member States and multiple partners worldwide to promote the safe, secure and peaceful use of nuclear technologies.
World Data on Education, 7th Edition (2010) First published as a CD-ROM in 1996, the database World Data on Education has regularly been improved and expanded using the information included in the National Reports on the Development of Education, supplemented with data from other sources.
International Court of Justice The Court’s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies.
The Economist The Economist online offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. We publish all articles from The Economist print edition (including those printed only in British copies) and maintain a searchable online archive that dates back June 1997. We also offer a variety of web-only content, including blogs, debates and audio/video programmes.