Students will research a problem currently affecting south Florida's environment. Current and concrete data on the dimensions of the problem and why it is a problem should be explored. After examining what has been done to remedy the problem thus far, students will propose a modest, but viable, solution to the problem. Below is a list of research topics:
A database is a searchable collection of information. In library research, a database is where you can find sources such as journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Some databases offer sources on various subject areas while others are specific to a discipline or subject area.
Online Research Databases
The following online sources are great tools to begin your research. They are accessible from any computer/mobile device with Internet access, and also off-campus using your BC student ID and MMDD of your birth date. Click link to access additional online resources.
General Databases
Issues & ControversiesThis link opens in a new windowIssues & Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowLearn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowStatista provides statistics, reports, forecasts and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources. Strong in business and current events.
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new windowThe Gale eBook platform enables users to find and retrieve multi-disciplinary digital content from Gale imprints, and those of over 150 publishing partners. Titles are authoritative, relevant and DRM free and ebooks are accessible! Audio files can be downloaded and saved onto any mobile device and read aloud in nearly 25 languages. Content can be translated as well. Ebook content is highly findable via detailed indexing, Discovery Services and MARC records. Formatted citations are easily exported; bookmarked links will never change and may be shared with non-users. Users can enable easy web reading with HTML or enjoy a more visual experience with cover-to-cover book view.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Gale Academic OneFileThis link opens in a new windowGale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information theyre looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Subject-Specific Databases
Environmental Studies and Policy CollectionThis database provides information on all aspects of the environmental field and contains full text articles on environmental issues and policy.
Living GreenProvides information on pollution; major ecosystems and threats they face; green building and transportation principles; green issues in food production and consumption; and room-by-room explorations of green practices at home.
AccessScienceAccessScience contains articles, reference materials, biographies, images, and animations covering all major scientific disciplines.
Florida Newspaper DatabaseA custom collection of more than 50 magazines and journals focused on all aspects of Florida.
Streaming Video Databases
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand provides streaming access to more than 20,000 videos covering a wide range of subject areas.
Snake in the Grass : an Everglades invasion by 
Linkages Between Ecosystems in the South Florida Hydroscape by 
