An RSS feed is a Web-based method for letting you know when new documents you’re interested in are available in ProQuest. An icon labeledCreate RSS feed is available as a link:
- Below the search box on any any search results list.
- With any search in your recent searches list, or with any search saved to My Research.
- At the top of the page that provides details about a publication title you find through a Publication Search.
An RSS feed for your current search, or for a publication title, serves the same purpose as an alert, letting you know when new matching documents, or a new issue are available in ProQuest. However, an RSS feed gives you more flexibility of access. Instead of only being delivered by email, you can integrate your RSS feed into an RSS reader or into a Web page. When you create an RSS feed, ProQuest provides you with a link that you can add to an RSS reader or integrate into your own Web page or a Web page at your institution. Clicking the link at any time will display the most current matching search results, or the most current issue’s contents.
If your administrator has chosen to disable anonymous RSS feeds for your institution’s accounts, when you click the Create RSS feed link you will be prompted to set up a My Research account if you do not have one, or log in to My Research if you do.
Important to know — Content from the ebrary e-books database will not be included in alert emails or RSS delivery at this time.
Create or modify an RSS feed
The Set up your RSS feed and Modify your RSS feed popups are very similar.
Step 1—Review search details
- Name this feed: The name can include alphabetic and numeric characters, as well as spaces and special characters.
- Searched for: Reflects the search you performed. Your RSS feed will be based on that search. If you want to change the search (and therefore, the feed), run a new search and set up a corresponding new RSS feed. While modifying an alert, click Edit search query to modify the underlying search.
- Limited by: Shows any limits you imposed when you ran your search.
- Databases: Reflects the databases selected when you ran your search. If your search ran against multiple databases, click the View list/Hide listlink toggle to show or hide the database list. If you want the search to run against different databases, run a new search, select different databases, and set up a corresponding new RSS feed.
Step 2—Define your RSS feed preferences
- Include search details: Specify whether or not you want your RSS feed to include: Searched for, Limited by and Databases fields as described above.
- Include: Select from:
- Newly published results only — As content becomes available in ProQuest, your RSS feed will include new articles and other content from currently published sources.
- Newly added documents, including historical items (the default) — As content becomes available in ProQuest, your RSS feed will include articles and other content from currently published sources, as well as from historical sources that are no longer publishing.
Managing your RSS feeds in My Research
You can view and manage your RSS feeds when you are signed into your My Research account. If you don’t have an account, check out the benefits.
Click the RSS feeds tab at the top of your My Research page to display a list of all RSS feeds that you’ve created. By default, your RSS feeds are listed in the order you created them, with the newest RSS feed listed first.
You can:
- Click an RSS feed link to view the corresponding latest search results or issue contents list.
- Delete RSS feeds
- Modify an RSS feed — Change any of the settings you specified for a feed when you created it, including editing the underlying search.
- View results/View latest issue — Use these links to retrieve either a current search results list, or the current issue’s contents list.
