CINAHL Complete is our top nursing & allied health research database. It provides full-text articles on nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
The following databases are specific to nursing and health sciences.
Clinical Nursing Calculations by
Clinical Nursing Calculations is an essential text for teaching dosage calculation to undergraduate nursing students. The text employs the CASE approach, which is a step-by-step method for performing dosage calculations. The author team draws from extensive experience across the continuum of care to bring readers a truly informative and dynamic resource. Clinical Nursing Calculations has been expertly organized into four sections for easy navigation: Mathematics Overview, Principles of Medication Administration, Basic Dosage and Intravenous Calculations, and Advanced Calculations. In addition to clinical calculation coverage, the text also features expanded content on nutrition, insulin pencalculations, and the legal implications of medication administration. The Joint Commission and the Institute for Safe Medication Practice guidelines regarding safe medication administration are also featured. To facilitate learning, students will find examples in both electronic medication administration record (eMAR) and electronic health record format. This text can be used as a primary text for a dosage calculations course or as a supplemental text within a nursing program or pharmacology course. Three methods of dosage calculation are presented side-by-side in table format for every dosage calculation Updated chapter references Updated content for dosing and safe injection practices per CDC Guidelines and The Joint Commission New information on heparin dosage protocol to reflect clinical environment practices New drug titration examples and questions NCLEX®-style review questions are included Basic math concepts are highlighted in equations throughout the text for visual learners
Introduction to Nursing Research by
Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access
Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators by
To succeed as leaders of a diverse, multigenerational workforce, nurse managers and executives need to have both traditional management skills and a contemporary, creative mindset. Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators, Eighth Edition, is a comprehensive overview of key management and administrative concepts that are critical to leading healthcare organizations and ensuring patient safety and quality care. The text prepares nursing students and professional administrators to lead a workplace that is rapidly evolving due to technology, culture, and changes in the U.S. healthcare system.The Eighth Edition of Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators features an updated discussion of the business of health care, including resource procurement, revisions to the Affordable Care Act, and financial management relating to reimbursement. It also focuses on transformational leadership principles, such as how leading with emotional intelligence can foster communication, conflict resolution, team building, and joy in the workplace.
Google vs. Databases?
Library databases differ from Google because they contain information that is more scholarly than Google results. Databases are more:
This is a 2.5 min. video explaining the benefits of using library databases for research.
From BCOnlineLibrary
Broward County Library (BCL) Catalog
Central Campus University/College Library