It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SOW 3232 - Social Welfare Policy: Your Assignment and Related Resources
This page highlights resources to help you successfully complete your course assignments. Use the tabs along the top page to explore the wealth of information available to you. If you have any questions, please contact the Reference Desk (954-201-6653) or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Throughout this course, you will have assignments centering on social work issues, programs, policies, and legislation.
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. Click the link below to search for ebooks by keyword or subject.
(Remember if you are off campus, you will have to login using your FAU NetID credentials or with your FAU Owl Card# (21976...) from your College ID and your library PIN: the 2-digit month and 2-digit day of your birthdate).
Search FAU Catalog
You can locate books, ebooks, journals, microfilm, videos, music, DVDs, and other library materials using the FAU library catalog. This search box searches for all types of materials.
WorldCat is the world's largest database of library books. It allows you to search local library collections such as Novasoutheastern University, Florida Atlantic University, and the Broward County Public Library, as well as the United States and worldwide.
Once you locate books available from WorldCat, Current BC students may request books not owned by U/CL through U/CL Interlibrary Loan services.
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals:
•Strengthen American democracy;
•Foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans and
•Secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is one of the nation’s premier policy organizations working at the federal and state levels on fiscal policy and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income families and individuals.
"examines issues that relate to the work of social workers, including how to serve people who have multiple or complex needs and how public agencies and other structures deliver health and human services".
"We champion policies and programs that lift children out of poverty; protect them from abuse and neglect; and ensure their access to health care, quality education and a moral and spiritual foundation."
Now known as the Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs to underscore the diversity of issues under its purview, the Committee plays an integral role in managing legislation that affects the lives of many Americans.
When researching within your discipline, it is very important to use scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles to find current research on your topic. Journal articles can be found by using the library databases that are appropriate for your topic. Below is a list of some professional journals in social work and social policy:
Journal of Sociology and Social Work
Journal of Social Work
Social Work and Society
Social Work Today
Child and Family Social Work
Journal of Health and Social Policy
Journal of Child Abuse and the Law
Journal of Aging and Social Policy
Administration in Social Work
Journal of Social Work in Long-Term Care
Journal of Social Work Practice in the Addictions
Journals vs. Magazines
Journals - Academic / Scholarly publications of articles written by experts in the particular field of study. These articles are written for others within that particular discipline or profession using vocabulary and terminology common to them. Example: Journal of American Medical Association.
(Within journals is the more rigorous scholarly peer-reviewed or refereed articles that have to pass review by a board of experts in the field before publication.)
Magazines - General publications of articles written for people to get an overview of a topic, meant for general population comprehension. Magazine articles may be written by experts but are meant to be relatable to a larger audience than journals. Example:Newsweek, The Economist, or Sports Illustrated.
Recommended FAU Databases
Below is a list of databases appropriate for researching your assignments. All resources are available off-campus via EZproxy using your FAU NetID login, or your library card number located on your Owl Card and the MMDD of your birthdate. For the full list of databases, go to Browse Databases by Subjectand select a subject area from the dropdown menu.
This resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. It provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews
Accesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, and company and industry information.
Digital Object Identifier (DOI): refers to a unique alphanumeric string assigned to a journal article, book, book chapter, or reference entry. The DOI number is used to help track and identify individual documents. It is similar to the function of IBSN for a book.