Home - ENC 1102 - Prof. Geerling - Research Guides at Broward College

Search the U/CL Catalog

Search for Books & eBooks. To locate other library materials use the BC Libraries homepage.

Search the Library Catalog

Login Information

You must log in with your BC Email to access magazine or journal articles, streaming videos, library eBooks, and library databases.

Need help?: Chat with a librarian or email us at library@broward.edu.

Research Process Paper

Research Essay

Description: The Research Essay is where you will demonstrate mastery of the research process, academic writing, and MLA conventions. Guided by a research question of your choice, repeat the research process learned for the mid-term project and write an argumentative essay that presents your findings.

Requirements: The Research Essay must

be based on a professor-approved research question
use correct MLA format and citation
present an interesting and arguable thesis
support the thesis using research acquired during the research process
demonstrate significant knowledge in the subject area chosen
present a logical conclusion that speaks to the significance of the topic
be 4 – 8 pages long

Grading: You will be graded on how well you fulfill the requirements and follow directions given in class. Formal Research Essays should follow the conventions of academic writing. You have creative license in your choice of topic and research path, but all essays must have a clear and logical structure.

Advice:

Choose a research question you genuinely want to investigate.
Use the Elements of Thought and Intellectual Standards to help you organize your findings.
Attend all classes and library sessions as the tools you need to be successful will be given during these times.
Meet with the professor, or go to the writing center for help in drafting and proofreading your essay.

Suggested Databases

SWANK: Digital Campus Swank Digital Campus is a streaming film database. It provides digital access to course-related films and allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time. The films cover a wide range of topics. Playback of movies on a computer occurs in a web browser. In general, Swank Digital Campus supports operating systems and browsers that are currently supported by Microsoft and Apple. Microsoft Silverlight is required to view streaming videos. A free download is available for both for PC and Mac computers.
Films on Demand Films on Demand provides streaming access to more than 20,000 videos and documentaries covering a wide range of social issues. Includes transcripts and ability to customize segments.
Academic OneFile Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. It includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
PsycARTICLES PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans 1985 to present.
Databases by Subject