Collection Development Librarian
3501 Southwest Davie Road
Davie, FL 33314
The library liaison is a faculty member in your department or college. Since liaisons may change each year, please ask your chair, check the library liaisons tab, or ask the Collection Development Librarian.
You need to complete a U/C Library Request form, available online or from the Collection Development Librarian, or your request can be in the form of a catalog page or review. Have your library liaison initial the request and forward it to the Collection Development Librarian. We will accept your request in any format as long as it is initialed by your liaison.
The slips are review notices from Choice. They are sent to each liaison according to a breakdown of the academic areas of responsibility for that liaison. The slips are sorted by Library of Congress call numbers. If you need the schedule for those call numbers, please contact the Collection Development Librarian. Each liaison is to distribute the slips to the faculty members in their departments/areas for review. If a faculty member wishes the library to purchase the item, he/she should initial the slip, return it to the liaison for their initials, and it is then forwarded to the Collection Development Librarian. Any slips that are for items not requested may be discarded.
The slips are sorted by Library of Congress call numbers. If you need the schedule for those call numbers in your subject area(s) please contact the Collection Development Librarian. There is also a general subject area listed in the upper right corner of the slip.
The slips are sent September-April of each year. If you would like the slips sent to you year-round, please contact the Collection Development Librarian.
Each September, the Dean of the University/College Library will send a memo to both the liaison and the Department Chair/Dean informing them of the total dollar amount for their department for that fiscal year.
The allocation is to be used to select materials to support the academic courses/programs that are taught on the Central/Davie Campus. These materials will be housed and circulated from the library. This funding is to be used for one-time purchases of books, e-books and other non-print materials.
In order to efficiently use our staff in the ordering process, we are asking that your department expend 50% of these funds by the end of the semester in December and the rest of the allocation by the first week in February. We encourage you to order more than your allocation as some materials may be unavailable or we may receive discounts. Requests submitted after February will be held until funds are available or the next ordering cycle.
Many reference materials, i.e., encyclopedias, handbooks, etc., tend to be expensive. If an item is over $500 the request is taken to the Collection Development committee for review. If the committee approves the request the item is purchased. If the request is denied, the Collection Development librarian will ask the department for clarification concerning the request and for examples of how the item will be used by the students, faculty and staff and the request will be reviewed again by the Collection Development committee.
No, the funds are to be used to purchase materials that go into the collection that is housed and circulated from the library.
We ask that you spend no more than 25% of your department’s total allotment on audiovisual items.
We are purchasing a mix of DVD and streaming video items depending on the material format availability, projected use of the item, and the equipment available to the faculty member in their particular classroom.
It is generally accepted that audio books are a public library leisure reading item and our collection is a research based collection. We do have a few audio books in our leisure collection but are not adding additional items to that collection.
No, we do not have a music collection in the library but we do have music available through a database streaming service.
Yes. If there is a request for a periodical title please forward the information to the Collection Development Librarian. Periodical selections do not come from the departmental allocation but are ordered from a separate fund. These requests are due by the first week in February. Please note that many periodicals and journals are available full-text online through the numerous databases the library subscribes to. It may take up to one year for the library to receive a print periodical/journal since we start all subscriptions in January.
Yes. If there is a request for a database or an online resource, the name of the item and all other access information needs to be submitted to the Collection Development Librarian. Database and online resource selections do not come from the departmental allocation but are ordered from a separate fund. These requests are due by the first week in February.
Yes. You can request an e-book as you would any print book.
It can take from two weeks to six months for an item to arrive. While the library strives to order materials as quickly as possible, there are many factors to consider. Has it been published yet? Does the book jobber have it in stock? Is it out of print? Is it a foreign publication? There is no set answer for how long it takes for an item to arrive and be ready for circulation.
LINCCWeb, the library’s online catalog, will tell you the status of an ordered item. Go to the Library homepage at http://ucl.broward.edu and check under Finding Books, U/CL Catalog. If you do not find your requested item you can call the Collection Development Librarian.
Updated on: 06/11/15
The primary responsibility for selection of a balanced collection rests with the library professional staff and the Collection Development Librarian.
The library professional staff and the faculties of BC, and FAU, work jointly to ensure that the library has the materials need to further the educational missions of the College and University. Publishers and vendors should direct solicitations and promotional materials to
Ms. Michelle Apps
Collection Development Librarian
Publishers and vendors are strongly discouraged from making unannounced sales calls in person or over the telephone. Questions concerning firm orders and approval plans should be directed to Ms. Apps.
Publishers and vendors with questions about outstanding bills and orders should contact
Ms. Jan Rothhaar
Technical Services Department