Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON) is a comprehensive video database spanning subject areas including Anthropology, Art & Design, Business, Criminal Justice, Diversity Studies, Education, Gender & Sexuality, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, and Social Sciences. AVON supplements the titles previously available in VAST: Academic Video Online and offers thousands of titles that are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Academic Video Online: Premium replaces VAST: Academic Video Online.
arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Areas covered include physics and related disciplines, such as mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. It provides access to articles covering all aspects of life sciences research but does not include articles on clinical studies or clinical trials. Subject areas covered include biochemistry, biology, biophysics, cancer and cell biology, ecology and environmental sciences, genetics, genomics, immunology, microbiology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, paleontology, pathology, physiology, plant biology, and zoology.
Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world. It provides coverage across the next musical subject areas: Classical Music, Jazz, World Music, American Music, and Popular Music.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Project MUSE includes a collection of more than 800 eBooks on art, archaeology, anthropology, architecture, biology, communications and journalism, creative writing, criminal justice, diversity, economics, ecology, education, environmental sciences, folklore, geography, history, law, literature, medicine and health, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, social sciences, theater, and more.
To get access to available content, select ‘Only content I have full access to’ on the left side of Project Muse. A lock icon means there is no access to content.
RefWorks is a premier reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty, and librarians. RefWorks allows you to annotate, organize, and cite your research. From simple bibliographies to papers formatted with in-text citations or footnotes, RefWorks handles it all. Note: To get a RefWorks account, click on “Create account” and follow the instructions.
Swank Digital Campus is a streaming film database. It provides digital access to course-related films and allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time. The films cover a wide range of topics. If you are a faculty member and want to request a film, please click here.
Playback of movies on a computer occurs in a web browser. In general, Swank Digital Campus supports operating systems and browsers that are currently supported by Microsoft and Apple. Microsoft Silverlight is required to view streaming videos. A free download is available for both for PC and Mac computers.
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.