Transparent Language Online offers interactive training in 80 languages. Vocabulary flash cards, pronunciation practice, activities/games, culture blogs, online social communities, and video-based grammar lessons are included. Basic to intermediate level. Apple and Android apps are available. First time users must create a free personal account with a BC email address.
Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON) is a comprehensive video database spanning subject areas including Anthropology, Art & Design, Business, Criminal Justice, Diversity Studies, Education, Gender & Sexuality, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, and Social Sciences. AVON supplements the titles previously available in VAST: Academic Video Online and offers thousands of titles that are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Testing & Education Reference Center helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). First time users must create an account.
Includes National Geographic Magazine (the official journal of the National Geographic Society) and People, Animals, and the World. Topics covered include animals, environment, history, people and cultures, science and technology, and travel. Content includes articles, maps, videos, ebooks, and photography. 1888 - present.
Primary Search is designed for elementary school students. Contains full-text for more than 50 popular elementary school magazines as well as pamphlets and reference books such as the Encyclopedia of Animals and Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia.
World Book Advanced includes every article from the 22-volume print set encyclopedia, interactive maps, a world atlas, pathfinders, a Today in History section, timelines, compare places, world newspapers, government websites, and more. Click on Research & Resources to select a section.