Physics Websites - Professor Emily Howard - PHY 2053 - Research Guides at Broward College

Physics databases

ArXiv
Open access e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, and statistics.

arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the arXiv Advisory Board and the help of numerous subject moderators.
bioRxiv beta : the preprint server for biology
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. It provides access to articles covering all aspects of life sciences research but does not include articles on clinical studies or clinical trials. Subject areas covered include biochemistry, biology, biophysics, cancer and cell biology, ecology and environmental sciences, genetics, genomics, immunology, microbiology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, paleontology, pathology, physiology, plant biology, and zoology.
Science Magazine
The Science journal brings you breaking news from the world of scientific research. It also includes Sifter, a blog about the best science stories on the web, and a weekly podcast. Some of the topics covered are archaeology, biology, brain & behavior, chemistry, climate, earth, economics, education, environment, evolution, funding, health, math, paleontology, people & events, physics, plants & animals, policy, scientific community, social sciences, space, and technology. The journals are truly international in scope; most of the authors are based outside the United States, covering geographic areas such as, Africa, Asia/Pacific, Europe, and Latin America. Full text 'Science' journals available from 1997 to the present.

Websites

Amusement Park Physics
The resource allows users to design their own roller coaster, and along the way they will learn about the laws of gravity, pendulums, and kinetic energy. This resource contains interactive graphics and a glossary terms.
The Calculator Pad
The Calculator Pad represents the effort of The Physics Classroom website to provide students with practice solving physics word problems. Approximately 30 problems of varying degree of difficulty are provided for each topic. Answers can be easily viewed by clicking a button. And an audio file (mp3 format) is provided which explains the solution to the problem in great detail.
Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
This site contains information women physicists. Each biography page contains a photograph of the physicist, her major contributions and publications, honors, employment, education, additional information, and recommended reading.
Cool Cosmos
All about infrared astronomy, includes histrory, explanations, images, and videos.
Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
This site is part of the World of Science , an online encyclopedia created by Eric Weisstein, a Ph.D. in planetary science, "with assistance from the physics and internet communities."
Fear of Physics
Are you afraid of physics? Be fearful no longer, gentle reader. The Fear of Physics site has over twenty different interactive activities that teach the trepidatiously curious about physics via seesaws, basketball jump shots, a spinning wheel, and swinging pendulums.
The Feynman Lectures on Physics
History of Physics Online Exhibits
These online exhibits thoroughly cover many topics.
HyperPhysics
HyperPhysics is an exploration environment for concepts in physics which employs concept maps and other linking strategies to facilitate smooth navigation. For the most part, it is laid out in small segments or "cards", true to its original development in HyperCard. The entire environment is interconnected with thousands of links, reminiscent of a neural network.
Kepler’s Three Laws of Planetary Motion
This site consists of an overview of Kepler’s laws, with examples, applications, problems and related history.
NIST Reference on Constants, Units and Uncertainty
The National Institute of Standards and Technology site provides access to the latest values for physical constants. You can search by name, or or display an alphabetical list by category.
Physics Applets
This website serves as a clearinghouse of high-quality physics applets that can be used in a variety of settings. Includes informatiuon on mechanics, waves, properties of heat and matter, and optics.
Physics Central
Physics Central communicates the excitement and importance of physics to its readers. Part of the American Physical Society site.
Physics Flash Animations
The site contains Flash animations that illustrate principles in such categories as optics, sound waves, vectors, and relativity.
Physics Question of the Week
Weekly physics questions are offered up by the University of Maryland's Department of Physics.
PhysicsSongs.org
"Walter F. Smith, Associate Professor of Physics, Haverford College, believes "songs about physics can help students to remember critical concepts and formulas, but perhaps more importantly they communicate the lesson that physics can be fun."
Physics to Go
A collection of more than 600 websites that you can search or browse to explore physics on your own. It's also a biweekly online magazine, with archives containing more than 55 selected physics images.
PhysicsWorld
Concise arrangement of links to companies, educational institutions, reference sources, exhibits, organizations, media.
Science Hack
ScienceHack indexes any science videos from YouTube and anywhere else they can find them and packages them fairly cleanly in one spot.