It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a formal library research paper that incorporates your writing skills, research skills, and your skill of integrating your voice with those of your resources in presenting your paper.
Make a point with an argumentative edge that needs proving or disproving by support from other scholars and through illustrations from the plays.
Choose a play.
Research for 10 resources pertinent to your chosen topic in the Broward College library and the Internet.
Read the articles carefully to find supporting evidence, taking good notes about the bibliographic information (author, page number, publisher, date, etc.).
Evaluate and sort out the material you need to cite in your research
Incorporate the information into a well-focused, clearly organized, and coherently developed paper.
In your research paper, you should first state your position or make a point on the topic. Second, you should back up your position or point by using quotations culled from the sources (at least 10 sources: 6 articles from journals and magazines, 2 articles from the Internet, and 2 books). You should present your understanding of the subject and your research in a well-documented formal research format.
To develop your theme you could use any of the methods of thesis you learned in English 1101 (e.g. comparison and contrast, definition, argument, cause and effect, classification, and others). Your in-text citations and works cited page should be done in accordance with MLA style. Your paper will be graded and commented upon the following:
A clearly stated thesis statement on the topic with your position and reasons for your position.
Appropriate use of in-text citations and works cited page using MLA standards as well as accurate use of the outside sources by indirect quotations, direct quotations, paraphrasing and summarization.
A coherent development of your theme and your essay as a whole.
An integration between your voice and those of the works you have used to support your thesis.
Correct use of grammar, punctuation, spelling and word choice.
Online Literature Sources
Artemis Literary SourcesArtemis Literary Sources (formerly known as Literature Resources from Gale) provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Literary Reference CenterLiterary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. It includes full-text plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; short stories; classic novels; and author interviews.
Literary Themes for StudentsLiterary Themes provides analysis and criticism of recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and drama.
Biography In ContextBiography In Context provides full-text biographies from reference books and periodical articles.
Shakespeare for StudentsEach entry includes an introduction, principal characters, plot synopsis, principal topics, character studies, conclusion, overviews, and other topics appropriate to each play.
Drama for StudentsThe Drama for Students is an excellent resource to find vital information on the plays most studied at the college levels. Each volume covers 12-18 of the most frequently studied plays. Each entry provides an introduction that provides an overview of the work, a brief biography of the author, a plot summary, an annotated character list, a discussion of the work's principal themes, Understandable essays on the work's construction (setting, dialogue, imagery), historical and cultural context sections, and excerpted critical commentary.