Skip to main content

Copyright 101: A Basic Guide

Licensed databases

Obtaining permission is almost never a concern when using articles from databases licensed and paid for by the library. Licensed databases provide access to millions of full text journal articles that can be used in online course sites. Shown here are several major database providers to which the College community has access. A complete list can be found at Databases by Subject.

Ebsco Host logo EBSCOhost includes substantial full text offerings in such databases as Academic Search Complete, Art Source, Business Source Complete, CINAHL Complete, Education Source, ERIC, Humanities Source, Literary Reference Center, PsycARTICLES, and many more.
Jstor Logo JSTOR includes the full text content of scholarly journals from the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The complete backfiles of core scholarly journals (excluding the most recent 5 years) have been digitized, many of which date back to the 1800s.
Gale Cenhahe Learning logo Gale Cengage provides full text coverage in its numerous databases such as Academic OneFile, Biography in Context, Criminal Justice Collection, Health Reference Center Academic, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, U.S. History Collection, and many more.

Login Required

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653.

How to provide access to articles from licensed databases

Use the persistent link provided for each item in a database to direct students to electronic articles, images, or streaming media. In order to provide remote access, a proxy URL must be added to the front of the persistent link for some databases. Contact a librarian for help or additional information.

Please note that licenses generally prohibit downloading content onto another server, even for use in an online course site.

Images

Artstor Logo

ARTstor is a searchable collection of downloadable high quality digital images for education and scholarship. Users can download individual images or use the ARTstor Offline Image Viewer to build a presentation using ARTstor images.

To access all features, click on "ARTSTOR DIGITAL LIBRARY - ENTER HERE" and register or log in. 

Videos