This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "School Violence" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Apr 26, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/schoolviolence Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

In education, the use of force by a student, with or without a weapon, to cause injury to another student, teacher or member of the school staff. (Encyclopedia of American Education, 3rd ed. 2007)

 

Keywords

School violence

Juvenile delinquency

Violence in children

School shootings

Campus safety

Bullying

 

Narrow the topic

Is the problem of school violence exaggerated?

Are there more instances of violence in urban schools?

Are "zero tolerance" policies successful in reducing school violence?

Does school violence undermine the level of educational acheivement?

Are alternative schools effective in reducing violence?

How much does cyberbullying play in the increase of school violence?

Are statistics on school violence reliable? Do all schools use the same methods for categorizing violence?

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

 

Video on School Violence

 

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of American education
Call Number: REF LB17 .U54 2007

Handbook of school violence
Call Number: REF LB3013.32 .H36 2004

Encyclopedia of interpersonal violence - .
Call Number: REF HM 1121.E57 2008

Culture wars: an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices
Call Number: REF HN90.M6 U85 2010
"School Shootings"

Encyclopedia of victimology and crime prevention
Call Number: REF HV6250.3.U5 E55 2010
"School shootings" "School Violence" "School-Based Violence Programs" "School-Based Bullying Prevention"

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip