Skip to main content

ENC 1101 - Prof. Hofman: How Do I Cite?

MLA: Book (Print)

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of Publication.

Example:

Bolling, Linda. My Life with My Best Friend in Colorado. Time-Life, 2008.

MLA: Dictionary Entry (Print)

"Title of Entry." Title of Work, edition, Year, page. 

Example:

“Heraldry.” The American Heritage College Dictionary, 4th ed., 2010, p. 647.

MLA: Journal (Print)

Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title

      Date of Publication, Volume#, Issue#,  Page#(s).

Example:

Matchie, Thomas. "Law versus Love in The Round House." Midwest

       Quarterly, vol. 56, no.4, Summer 2015, pp. 353-64.

MLA: Newspaper (Print)

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article."

         Name of Newspaper, Day Month Year, Section and Page.

   Example:

Eilperin, Juliet. "U.S. Considers Deep-Sea Chemicals for

       Oil Cleanup." Washington Post, 10 May 2010,  A6. 

MLA: Magazine (Print)

Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Day Month

     Year, Page#(s). 

Example:

Armintor, Bob. “The Search for Hidden Life.” Newsweek,

     22 Nov. 1999, pp. 82-93. 

Anthology or Collection (Entire Anthology)

Last Name, First Name of Editor(s). Title of Anthology. Publisher, Year. 

Example:

Hill, Charles A., and Marguerite Helmers, Eds. Defining Visual Rhetorics, 

      Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2004. 

Anthology or Collection (Single work within)

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Work within Anthology." Title of Anthology, 

        First Name Last Name of Editor(s), Publisher, Year., Page#(s). 

Example:

Swanson, Gunnar. "Graphic Design Education as a Liberal Art: Design and Knowledge

          in the University and The 'Real World.'" The Education of a Graphic Designer, 

           Ed. Steven Heller, Allworth Press, 1998, pp.13-24. 

MLA: Book (Online/eBook)

Last name, First name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of Publication.

     Name of Database, Day Month Year Accessed.

Example:

Baehr, Craig M., and Bob Schaller. Writing For The Internet : A Guide To Real Communication

       In Virtual Space, Greenwood Press, 2010. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost),

       13 Nov. 2012.

 

MLA: Dictionary Entry (Online)

"Title of Entry." Title of Work. Title of Website, Publication Year,  Month Day Year of Access. Url.

Example:

"Obliviious." Random House Dictionary. Dictionary.com, 2017,

          1 Sep. 2017. www.dictionary.com/browse/oblivious.

 

MLA: Journal (Online)

Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title, Volume#, Issue#, Year of Publication, Page#(s).

     Name of Database, URL. Day Month Year Accessed.

Example:

Liberatore, Stephanie. "Q Is organic food healthier?" The Science Teacher, vol. 77, n.7, Oct. 2010, p. 74.

         Academic OneFile, db03.linccweb.org/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com.db03.linccweb.org/ps/i.do?

         p=AONE&sw=w&u=lincclin_bwcc&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CA238424722&asid=28d5a18da938c04eff810c0d2901cf0f.

         Accessed 1 Sept. 2017.

 

MLA: Webpage

Editor, author, or compiler name (if available). “Page Title.” Website Title, Version or Edition.

     Sponsor or Publisher , Date of Publication or Date of Access (which comes after url), URL.

Example:

Mayo Clinic Staff. “Organic Foods: Are They Safer? More Nutritious?.”  Mayo Clinic,  7 Sep. 2012,

        www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/organic-food/art-20043880.

MLA: Images (Online)

Last Name, First Name of Artist. Title of Image OR Description.

      Year of creation, Institution, City Where Work is Housed, Name of Website,

      URL.

Example:

Hura, Sohrab. Old Man Lighting a Fire. 2015,  Magnum Photos

       www.magnumphotos.com/C.aspx?VP3=SearchResult&ALID=2K1HRG6818_Q.

 

MLA: YouTube Videos

“Title of Video.” Name of Website, Name of Person Who Uploaded Video, Day Month Year of Posting, URL.

   Example:

"The Killers - Human." YouTube, uploaded by TheKillersVEVO, 13 Dec. 2009, 

     https://youtu.be/RIZdjT1472Y.