Search for Books & eBooks. To locate other library materials use the BC Libraries homepage.
Online Literature Sources
These are just a few of the many literature-specific databases available through the library. View additional online resources.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies
This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies analyzes and contributes to popular culture by offering useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, and liberal arts courses.
Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Gale eBooks
This link opens in a new windowThe Gale eBook platform enables users to find and retrieve multi-disciplinary digital content from Gale imprints, and those of over 150 publishing partners. Titles are authoritative, relevant and DRM free and ebooks are accessible! Audio files can be downloaded and saved onto any mobile device and read aloud in nearly 25 languages. Content can be translated as well. Ebook content is highly findable via detailed indexing, Discovery Services and MARC records. Formatted citations are easily exported; bookmarked links will never change and may be shared with non-users. Users can enable easy web reading with HTML or enjoy a more visual experience with cover-to-cover book view.
Gale Literature
This link opens in a new windowGale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search and find content across these resources in entirely new ways. Gale Literature features a new mobile-responsive design with all of the same features of Artemis Literary Sources, but with the ability to cross-search all of Gales literature databases. It includes full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, primary sources, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Gale Literary Sources replaces Artemis Literary Sources.
Gale In Context: Biography
This link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
JSTOR
This link opens in a new windowThis database includes all 2,800+ JSTOR academic journals that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.
Literary Reference Center Plus
This link opens in a new windowLiterary Reference Center Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. It includes full-text plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; short stories; classic novels; and author interviews.
Literary Themes for Students
This link opens in a new windowLiterary Themes provides analysis and criticism of recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and drama.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
This link opens in a new windowSt. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture is a cross-curriculum resource that will find use among a wide variety of users. Major topics include: television, movies, theater, art, books, magazines, radio, music, sports, fashion, health, politics, trends, community life and advertising.
Short Stories for Students
This link opens in a new windowThis multi-volume series provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. It includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.
Films on Demand
This link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand provides streaming access to more than 20,000 videos covering a wide range of subject areas.
