Skip to main content

ENC 1101- Prof. Berkley

Welcome to ENC 1101

Suggested Databases

Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.

Issues & Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles.

Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Statista provides statistics, reports, forecasts and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources. Strong in business and current events.

Assignment

Source Analysis Essay

 

Assignment Description:

The Source Analysis Essay will examine two  articles on the same subject with differing, or preferably, opposing viewpoints. Your essay will examine the rhetorical strategies used and and will determine which viewpoint is most effectively portrayed. The essay should be a minimum of 800-1000 words and include two sources.

Assignment Outcomes:

The Source Analysis Essay should demonstrate your ability to analyze rhetorical strategies and an understanding of MLA format and citation.

Write an essay in which you analyze these articles, putting them into conversation with each other with what you know about effective writing. Evaluate the way these authors go about their inquiry, and how effectively their texts achieve their purposes with their intended audiences. You should use quotations from these texts to back up your assertions about them. By the end of the essay, you should state definitively which text is more rhetorically effective and why.

What the Essay Should NOT Do: 

The Source Analysis Essay should not summarize the articles. Summary may be necessary in service to a point you are making, but essays that rely on summary will not be successful. Look at the component elements of the arguments presented and analyze their impact on the overall effectiveness.

Need a topic? Check out the Library Pathfinders

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Contact Information

Elita Kalma
Contact:
Broward College, Central Campus Library
Davie, FL
954-201-6485