Video
Andrew tells the story of a day in his life as a student with a learning disability.
Keywords
- Learning disabilities
-
Learning disabled children
- Learning disabled youth
- Special education
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Suggested Websites
- Learning Disabilities Online"LD OnLine.org is the world's leading web site on learning disabilities and ADHD, serving more than 200,000 parents, teachers, and other professionals each month".
- Learning Disabilities Association"In March of 1963, parents of children with learning disabilities representing local support groups from around the country gathered in Chicago for a national conference. These concerned families organized into a national organization which was incorporated in 1964 as the Association for Children with Learning Disabilities (ACLD)."
- SERISpecial Education Resources on the Internet (SERI) is a collection of Internet accessible information resources of interest to those involved in the fields related to Special Education.
Google It
Definition
“A special education term for children who exhibit a discrepancy between their ability to achieve and their demonstrated achievement.” (American Educators Encyclopedia)
Narrow the topic
- Does it help or hurt children to classify them as having a learning disability?
- Does special education for students with disabilities cost too much?
- Should schools try to achieve “full inclusion” of students with learning disabilities in regular classrooms?
- Are more students being diagnosed as learning disabled? Why?
- How should learning disabled students be accommodated in testing?
- How has the American's With Disabilities Act affected the learning disabled?
- What are promising therapies for the learning disabled?
Reference Books




Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
How can I help you? |
Contact Info Reference/Instruction Coordinator University/College Library at Broward College Central Campus Davie, FL 33314 (954) 201-6484 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.

![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
